We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food!”

Il Lupino Trattoria & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Lupino Trattoria & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #198 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $22 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Seaside Avenue
Description: Welcome to Il Lupino Trattoria and Wine Bar, created by famed New York restaurateur Wolfgang Zwiener, serving delicious, authentic Italian cuisine in a relaxing, yet sophisticated atmosphere, featuring indoor and outdoor bar and dining and a Salumeria featuring imported Italian cheeses, hand-cut meats that pair superbly with our wines by the glass list. While growing up in Europe, Wolfgang Zwiener discovered his passion for true Italian cuisine. In Italy, the locals would affectionately call him "Il Lupino", meaning "Little Wolf". It became his dream to open an Italian restaurant that would offer all his favorite dishes from Italy. That dream came to fruition in December 24th, 2010, when Wolfgang and his son, Peter, proudly opened their flagship Il Lupino Trattoria and Wine Bar at the Royal Hawaiian Center, in the heart of Waikiki. They hope you will enjoy the delicious Italian food created with love, dedication and passion. You might even meet Wolfgang himself in the restaurant while you are visiting. Pasta is prepared daily fresh and all our product comes directly from the Island. Lustful creations incorporating the fresh local seasonal produce, imported Italian cheeses, hand-cut meats and a variety of seafood accented with hand-made pastas. Our team is committed to exceeding expectations as they delight and satisfy while creating a memorable dining experience. Featuring wines from around the world our award winning selections enhance our cuisine and your experience. Focused primarily on Italian and Domestic selections we have something for every wine enthusiast!
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Found the restaurant by chance while out walking. We had to wait for a table even though the restaurant was nearly empty but we weren't in any hurry and it gave us time for a drink before eating. We got a nice table out of the way of the main thoroughfare.
Food was very nice and staff very attentive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ToonBarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    289
    143
    89
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Food OK, great service.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Il Lupino is just across from our hotel. It looks interesting, modern, so we decided to try it for dinner. It was a good experience. Service is very professional; quite clearly the owners do not save on staff, which is good, since I am tired of the doing more with less in many restaurants (it doesn't work). The team works well and each individual has clear functions.
We also appreciated our starter, a small platter of cheeses and meats that we chose from an interesting selection. It is a very thought of way to entice apetites. The only minus of the evening was the food. It was just OK. My risotto was not fuming hot as I would have liked; my husband's fish was not unforgettable. But the wine selection was impressive and the overall experience positive, so I do recommend Il Lupino.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barbarabt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waited for a table but was worth it”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Seemed to be lots of tables available but had to wait maybe to ease the pressure in the kitchen. We didnt like the table were given as it was next to a jutting out wall but happy to move us. It was worth the wait ad the food & service were excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank FFelgate
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent Italian at a good price”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Il lupino is a great little italian place located in the Royal Hawaiian Center in Waikiki. Having dined with them previously I was excited to return with new associates and friends. Unfortunately the menu was more limited that I had remembered and the special of the day was not available as they had sold out. The food was decent and the atmosphere made up for the selection and taste on the plate. Il lupino is a great place for groups and lunches but if you are looking for authentic italian cooking straight out of Italy - this may not be the best menu for you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler3651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Italian at a price”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We visited with family and friends. We found the food of average quality and certainly overpriced, although servings were large. The seafood pasta dish was the hit, very tasty but the pizza and pesto pasta were bland. The main meat dishes were tasty too. The antipasto was a disappointment too. They claim to source meats from around the world, well all I can say is the local deli back home has a better mortadella for the tenth of the price. I'm not even sure how mortadella or the basic salami we got that night made it on an antipasto platter as they are inexpensive cold cuts - one would expect to see the likes of prosciutto not mortadella for the pride tag!

I would have liked to try Taormina instead in Lewers st but unfortunately listened to the concierge at Sheraton waikiki where we were staying who recommended it. I don't think we'd return here. Maybe it was just the dishes we chose.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2angelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Lupino Trattoria & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Il Lupino Trattoria & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing