We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little slice of Italy!”

Il Lupino Trattoria & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Lupino Trattoria & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #198 of 2,350 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $22 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Seaside Avenue
Description: Welcome to Il Lupino Trattoria and Wine Bar, created by famed New York restaurateur Wolfgang Zwiener, serving delicious, authentic Italian cuisine in a relaxing, yet sophisticated atmosphere, featuring indoor and outdoor bar and dining and a Salumeria featuring imported Italian cheeses, hand-cut meats that pair superbly with our wines by the glass list. While growing up in Europe, Wolfgang Zwiener discovered his passion for true Italian cuisine. In Italy, the locals would affectionately call him "Il Lupino", meaning "Little Wolf". It became his dream to open an Italian restaurant that would offer all his favorite dishes from Italy. That dream came to fruition in December 24th, 2010, when Wolfgang and his son, Peter, proudly opened their flagship Il Lupino Trattoria and Wine Bar at the Royal Hawaiian Center, in the heart of Waikiki. They hope you will enjoy the delicious Italian food created with love, dedication and passion. You might even meet Wolfgang himself in the restaurant while you are visiting. Pasta is prepared daily fresh and all our product comes directly from the Island. Lustful creations incorporating the fresh local seasonal produce, imported Italian cheeses, hand-cut meats and a variety of seafood accented with hand-made pastas. Our team is committed to exceeding expectations as they delight and satisfy while creating a memorable dining experience. Featuring wines from around the world our award winning selections enhance our cuisine and your experience. Focused primarily on Italian and Domestic selections we have something for every wine enthusiast!
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little slice of Italy!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were on a conference at the Sheraton Waikiki and a group of 8 of us decided on Il Lupino. The restaurant was full every night, but then so were many other nearby places serving huge portions of ribs etc. We all had a first course of pasta or salad. My gnocchi was excellent. A friend's panzanella salad full of fresh local produce. My ossobucco was as good as any I've had and all 8 of us enjoyed our mains. We were a large group and were not kept waiting at any stage ordering many combinations and a variety of wines. Coffee at the end was a highlight - real coffee! A short black with strength and taste! A few of the Italians amongst the conference attendees would 'sneak' back for a pasta for lunch and a decent coffee. Didn't try here for breakfast as that was included in our hotel package.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IngridaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    284
    140
    88
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N.C.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian cuisine”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Dinner was excellent. Fine dining with excellent service. Reservations are a good idea if you want to eat outside

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovemywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This restaurant is next door to the Sheraton Waikiki where we stayed and we happened to stumble across it our first morning looking for a place for breakfast. It is FANTASTIC and our server, Abby was wonderful. We ate breakfast here 3 times! We wish we had gone for dinner as the menu looked great. The outdoor seating is in a lush garden courtyard, away from the street traffic of Kalakaua Ave....it's the perfect Hawaiin setting. The french toast was the best I have ever had and Abby is one of the best servers we had the whole 10 days on the island.
Highly recommend!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrskjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I stubbled across this restaurant one evening and loved it, the atmosphere is really nice with the fairy lights and fire torches lit surrounding the restaurant. The prusciutto pizza is AMAZING! So good we went for back another night to eat it again! They give you warm bread when you arrive which is delicious. We also ate breakfast here one morning which was also nice. I think the price is very reasonable for good quality food and wine.
Highly recommend!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lollidSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting for Happy Hour”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

After a full day, this is the perfect place to unwind at the end of the afternoon. The restaurant is located off the main street and the patio seating allows you to enjoy the beautiful Royal Hawaiian park-like grounds. Happy Hour starts at 4pm and includes several interesting food and drink choices. We always end up having a sampling or two with wine and then staying for dinner. Service has always been very good. There is seating inside if you prefer, but we have always enjoyed the patio...people watching is fun!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseAnne45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Lupino Trattoria & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Il Lupino Trattoria & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing