We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come Hungry”

Side Street Inn Kapahulu
Reserve with OpenTable
Side Street Inn Kapahulu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #113 of 2,339 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Asian, Bar, Pub, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Date St.
San Diego
Level Contributor
108 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Come Hungry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We heard about this place by word of mouth from the valet guys at our hotel and they were right. Funky location but good location close to Waikiki (just a couple of blocks from Rainbow Inn and Leonard’s Bakery). And in the same vein good food, lots of it and crowed with locals. Not much on décor but they make up for it with great food and large portions so come hungry. This is a great place to bring the family since all the food is served family style and the menu focus is for local dishes. The fried rice is enough to feed 4. They are known for their pork chops but we ended up fish and it was done just right. The sizzling steak platters smelled fantastic as they came by. The staff was very friendly and helpful. For desert we had the bread pudding which was more than enough for both of us.
Great place to bring the family and remember to bring your appetite as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    114
    28
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“So Ono!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Local friend suggested Side Street for a late dinner and it was awesome! Ordered the fried chicken, fried rice and pork chops! Auntie ordered oxtail stew and she loved it! The mac salad was good too! Service was excellent! Easy access from the parking garage...Auntie used her walked and the elevator was close to the entrance of the restaurant. Did order the peanut crunchy chocolate dessert - excellent choice! So tasty with vanilla ice cream and a very crispy peanuty topping! Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel4UwithQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OK fusion food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Cannot eat rice with a plate and chopsticks. The fried rice with a bit too much Chinese sausages and oil. The fish was not up to par. The pork chops were the best of all, cannot complain on that one.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank italycanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Many reccomendations brought us here, what a dissapointment.
The "famous" pork chop was dry and bland, the fried rice doesnt deserve being put on a plate, and the fried chicken we left after we had a bite. Overall ambience was stale and bright, however the service staff were friendly.

Would we go back? No way...

Helpful?
1 Thank Divad N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Side Street was recommended to me by a colleague who got the recommendation from a Hawaiian. We went to the one on Kapahulu.

The prices were very reasonable, the food amazing, the drinks very very good, and the service great.

I had the pesto-encrusted ahi. OMG. Talk about amazing. We also got a plate of fried rice to share which was a good idea because the portion was huge (a whole meal for one-two people).

I had some drink called the "something" Tea... it was green, had citron and other liquors, and very good. They do NOT skimp on the liquor.

I only had two drinks but was buzzing the entire evening. If I'm ever in Honolulu again I'm totally going back here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Side Street Inn Kapahulu also viewed

 

Been to Side Street Inn Kapahulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing