We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Sushi”
Review of Morimoto Waikiki - CLOSED

Morimoto Waikiki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Hobron
Transit: Morimoto Waikiki is on the Red Line for the Honolulu Trolley, exit Discovery Bay. If taking TheBus, the following lines are avaiable 8, 19,20,23,24,42 and E, The Country Express.
Description: Famed Iron Chef Masaharu Morimoto brings his seamless integration of Western and Japanese ingredients to his newest restaurant, Morimoto Waikiki. With a focus on top-quality fish and fresh ingredients, everything is prepared in-house from ingredients flown in from Japan four times a week. Our seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations feature the best seafood as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Our refreshing and vibrant ambiance is the perfect backdrop for the remarkable culinary experience that is Morimoto Waikiki. Welcome.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
855 reviews
515 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Incredible Sushi”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Exactly what you would expect from Morimoto. The sushi was incredible. The drinks were mixed expertly. The sushi just melts in your mouth. It was the freshest fish, like maybe the caught the fish right when we ordered our meal. It's a bit pricey but absolutely worth it. Make reservations, it fills up.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jvalliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Fresh and delicious are what we aim to deliver, so it's great to read your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the sushi and drinks so much. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best,
Chad, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    280
    127
    64
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

I did the omakase menu, and it was a culinary adventure! The sushi was fresh and delicious. All courses I had were unique and delicious. We went to celebrate my 30th birthday and the server definitely made it special by bringing me a copy of the menu as well as writing happy birthday on my desert! We were seated outside we requested. The setting was beautiful with the marina in the background and the setting sun behind it. The fire pits lit up as it got darker and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening here. Our server was extremely knowlegeable about everything on the menu and it was a great experience! Thank you to everyone at Morimoto Waikiki for a great evening!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
It's the least we could do! Thanks so much for celebrating your 30th birthday dinner at our restaurant, Kristin. I'm glad you enjoyed a culinary adventure when you dined with us. I'm happy to hear our staff went above and beyond to make it a special experience for you. Hope to see you again in the future!

All the best,
Chad, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
245 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Exceptional and innovative”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We dined in this restaurant in the Modern Hotel at the recommendation of a friend.
The hotel and setting for dinner are very cool. It is very fresh and funky, we sat outside over looking the marina and it was very pleasant.
The service was very attentive and the waiter new the food well.
Our appetisers were excellent, we had the tacos and pork gyoza. The gyoza was blended with an italian tomato sauce and was the best I have had. We had duck and the hot pot fish they cook at the table, it was divine.
Price was appropriate for the dinner and far cheaper than the average Morton's.
I rate this on par with the exceptional Alan Wong's.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank IanB1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review. It's great to hear that you thought the food and service were excellent. Hope to see you again sometime.

Take care,
Chad, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding ”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Morimoto is superb. We had a pre- chosen set menu and loved every morsel. Really interesting, and sophisticated Japanese dining in the hippest spot in Honolulu - The Modern. It's a match made in heaven. Outdoor tables are better if the weather is conducive. A great dining experience

Helpful?
Thank ANNE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
It's wonderful hearing that you enjoyed every morsel of your meal, Anne! Thanks for the wonderful review. I hope you're enjoying the rest of your stay in Hawaii!

Best,
Chad, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what it is”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is one of those "celebrity chef" restaurants. There are branches all over the place. This one is in the Modern Hotel, which is at the Marina end of Waikiki. We went there for lunch the day after hurricane Iselle. The outdoor patio was closed because of the storm. We sat inside the large and mostly empty dining room. The decor is modern but the furniture, especially the chairs are worn out. I ordered a Chirashi Sushi, while my two companions ordered a fried calamari salad and a ramen soup. My Chirashi was below average, especially given its 35-dollar price tag. The salad was good and so was the ramen but overall, nothing to write home about. The total bill came to more than 80 dollars for a very average meal. I suppose if the patio was open, dinner during sunset might be OK but our lunch was a bust.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sd122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
It's a shame to hear you weren't that impressed with your visit. We always want our guests to enjoy a delicious meal in a charming atmosphere, so I'm sorry if we didn't live up to those expectations. I hope that you might give us another chance to impress you the next time you're in Honolulu.

Best,
Chad, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morimoto Waikiki also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing