We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional and innovative”
Review of Morimoto Waikiki - CLOSED

Morimoto Waikiki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Hobron
Transit: Morimoto Waikiki is on the Red Line for the Honolulu Trolley, exit Discovery Bay. If taking TheBus, the following lines are avaiable 8, 19,20,23,24,42 and E, The Country Express.
Description: Famed Iron Chef Masaharu Morimoto brings his seamless integration of Western and Japanese ingredients to his newest restaurant, Morimoto Waikiki. With a focus on top-quality fish and fresh ingredients, everything is prepared in-house from ingredients flown in from Japan four times a week. Our seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations feature the best seafood as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Our refreshing and vibrant ambiance is the perfect backdrop for the remarkable culinary experience that is Morimoto Waikiki. Welcome.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We dined in this restaurant in the Modern Hotel at the recommendation of a friend.
The hotel and setting for dinner are very cool. It is very fresh and funky, we sat outside over looking the marina and it was very pleasant.
The service was very attentive and the waiter new the food well.
Our appetisers were excellent, we had the tacos and pork gyoza. The gyoza was blended with an italian tomato sauce and was the best I have had. We had duck and the hot pot fish they cook at the table, it was divine.
Price was appropriate for the dinner and far cheaper than the average Morton's.
I rate this on par with the exceptional Alan Wong's.

Thank IanB1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Thanks for the wonderful review. It's great to hear that you thought the food and service were excellent. Hope to see you again sometime.

Take care,
Chad, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 557 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Morimoto is superb. We had a pre- chosen set menu and loved every morsel. Really interesting, and sophisticated Japanese dining in the hippest spot in Honolulu - The Modern. It's a match made in heaven. Outdoor tables are better if the weather is conducive. A great dining experience

Thank ANNE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

It's wonderful hearing that you enjoyed every morsel of your meal, Anne! Thanks for the wonderful review. I hope you're enjoying the rest of your stay in Hawaii!

Best,
Chad, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is one of those "celebrity chef" restaurants. There are branches all over the place. This one is in the Modern Hotel, which is at the Marina end of Waikiki. We went there for lunch the day after hurricane Iselle. The outdoor patio was closed because of the storm. We sat inside the large and mostly empty dining room. The decor is modern but the furniture, especially the chairs are worn out. I ordered a Chirashi Sushi, while my two companions ordered a fried calamari salad and a ramen soup. My Chirashi was below average, especially given its 35-dollar price tag. The salad was good and so was the ramen but overall, nothing to write home about. The total bill came to more than 80 dollars for a very average meal. I suppose if the patio was open, dinner during sunset might be OK but our lunch was a bust.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sd122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

It's a shame to hear you weren't that impressed with your visit. We always want our guests to enjoy a delicious meal in a charming atmosphere, so I'm sorry if we didn't live up to those expectations. I hope that you might give us another chance to impress you the next time you're in Honolulu.

Best,
Chad, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Great outdoor seating. Outstanding fish and meat. Great presentation on all dishes. Loved the large sake selection.

Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

We aim to please, so it's great to read your review, Cliff! I'm glad you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again sometime soon.

Best,
Chad, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Great vibe. Appetizers were a bit overpriced, but very good quality delicious food. Wait and bar staff were very welcoming and friendly

Thank boutiquehotelafficio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit -- thanks for the kind words. Hope to see you again the next time you're visiting Hawaii!

Best,
Chad, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morimoto Waikiki also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing