We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Japanese dinner”
Review of Morimoto Waikiki - CLOSED

Morimoto Waikiki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Hobron
Transit: Morimoto Waikiki is on the Red Line for the Honolulu Trolley, exit Discovery Bay. If taking TheBus, the following lines are avaiable 8, 19,20,23,24,42 and E, The Country Express.
Description: Famed Iron Chef Masaharu Morimoto brings his seamless integration of Western and Japanese ingredients to his newest restaurant, Morimoto Waikiki. With a focus on top-quality fish and fresh ingredients, everything is prepared in-house from ingredients flown in from Japan four times a week. Our seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations feature the best seafood as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Our refreshing and vibrant ambiance is the perfect backdrop for the remarkable culinary experience that is Morimoto Waikiki. Welcome.
Carnegie
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic Japanese dinner”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Eating at a quality restaurant like Morimotos was a highlight of our stay at the Mondern Hotel.
We ate a huge platter of sushi and sashimi, tried the signature Tuna dish, black cod fish, angry chicken and tried some wonderful deserts. If you are going to dine out in Waikiki and want an awesome gastronomical experience then you must have dinner at Morimotos at The Modern.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Knowing that we were a highlight of your trip truly makes my day. Thanks so much, Jeff! I can't wait to pass this along to our team, and we can't wait to welcome you back again some day. Take care.

Safe travels,

Chad, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    280
    127
    64
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
68 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“You need two credit cards but worth it.”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Great elegant restaurant. A bit touristy but this is Waikiki. Obama and his family have eaten here for the last three years within hours of his arrival in Hawaii. If you like here, also try Yanagi, my favorite sushi in Honolulu.

Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review, Peter! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant, and I hope you'll join us for another meal in the future.

Best,
Chad, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome beyond words”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I tried several items but my favorite was the Oyster Foie Gras - fresh steamed oysters, uni, and foie gras. Totally. Decadent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Junibugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Awesome beyond words? Thanks for the stellar review! It's great to hear that you're such a fan of our Oyster Foie Gras. I hope you'll join us for another meal in the future.

All the best,
Chad, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Food, drinks and service were all excellent. We were staying at the modern honolulu so also very convenient

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abigail_PW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thanks for the awesome recommendation! We always want our guests to enjoy great food, drinks and service, so it's nice to read your review. I hope you'll have the chance to join us for another meal in the future!

Best,
Chad, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Amazing food - the pork belly appetiser was the most delicious thing we had in Hawaii, followed closely by the tempura shrimp appetiser. Get a table overlooking the yachts and watch the sun set. Just lovely!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chad y, Manager at Morimoto Waikiki, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review, Natalie! It's awesome to hear that the pork belly was the most delicious thing you've had in Hawaii. I hope you'll join us for another meal in the future!

Best,
Chad, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morimoto Waikiki also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing