We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue, great food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morimoto Waikiki - CLOSED

Morimoto Waikiki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Hobron
Transit: Morimoto Waikiki is on the Red Line for the Honolulu Trolley, exit Discovery Bay. If taking TheBus, the following lines are avaiable 8, 19,20,23,24,42 and E, The Country Express.
Description: Famed Iron Chef Masaharu Morimoto brings his seamless integration of Western and Japanese ingredients to his newest restaurant, Morimoto Waikiki. With a focus on top-quality fish and fresh ingredients, everything is prepared in-house from ingredients flown in from Japan four times a week. Our seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations feature the best seafood as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Our refreshing and vibrant ambiance is the perfect backdrop for the remarkable culinary experience that is Morimoto Waikiki. Welcome.
Sydney
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great venue, great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Dined at Morimoto's for my birthday and it was a really enjoyable evening.

When we arrived our table was inside which is nice as it's a nice space and views of the kitchen, but we definitely wanted to sit outside (cooler in temp for one)... luckily a table became available in about 10 minutes.

Fabulous unusual food and definitely worth the price for a special occasion... it is expensive ($300 for two with wine).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank np-lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    280
    127
    63
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Does noise make it 'edgy'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ishi Yaki Buri Bop was delicious, 'angry' chicken cooked with cucumin) spice not specified, giving it an Indian flavor not desired by all, but essentially impossible to converse because of the very high noise level not explained by any particularly noisy individual tables.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaPaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Treated poorly by some.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The waiter was condescending and rude. I asked for ranch dressing, he said they did not have it, they did. I asked for a special preparation, he said "it depends". When I told him what I wanted, he said "not going to happen". He treated another person at my table poorly as well. The manager was not much better. Other staff were kind.

Advice to the waiter: either find a nicer way of saying things or ask the kitchen and know what dressings you have better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauiman1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect - Cant wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Excellent all round. Perfect server, food, sake, dessert and atmosphere. Brilliant way to start of vacation in Hawaii.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SJWMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The service, meal and atmosphere were an incredible beginning to our stay in Waikiki. It's located inside the Modern Hotel (are really cool place--with unique amenities in the rooms and two cool pools). We sat inside and I had a view of the open kitchen. It was a Sunday night and incredibly busy but the service and food was fabulous. At one point I think I counted 12 chefs in the kitchen!
We shared a variety of appetizers and one entree for our group. My favorite was the cold tuna pizza (doesn't sound good, does it?) but boy, it was tasty! It had three of my favorite ingredients: olives, anchovy and jalapeno on a light tuna and thin crust. Very unusual but yum!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaGirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morimoto Waikiki also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing