We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morimoto Waikiki - CLOSED

Morimoto Waikiki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Hobron
Transit: Morimoto Waikiki is on the Red Line for the Honolulu Trolley, exit Discovery Bay. If taking TheBus, the following lines are avaiable 8, 19,20,23,24,42 and E, The Country Express.
Description: Famed Iron Chef Masaharu Morimoto brings his seamless integration of Western and Japanese ingredients to his newest restaurant, Morimoto Waikiki. With a focus on top-quality fish and fresh ingredients, everything is prepared in-house from ingredients flown in from Japan four times a week. Our seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations feature the best seafood as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Our refreshing and vibrant ambiance is the perfect backdrop for the remarkable culinary experience that is Morimoto Waikiki. Welcome.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Morimoto's was extremely innovative in the use of local ingredients, prepared in very unusual ways, as featured in Iron Chef series.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    280
    127
    63
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I love Morimoto's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and I have eaten at Morimoto's four times in two different trips to Honolulu. It's one of our favorite restaurants ever. There's a reason that Chef Morimoto rarely lost an Iron Chef competition. His food is simply better. I have had the best-cooked lobster in my life at this restaurant. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VTEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Leave it to the Chef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The best thing we did was to give the kitchen their way with us. We gave the waiter our budget, he noted our dietary restrictions, then we just sat back and let the fun begin. Course after course of intricately prepared culinary magnificence - one of the wagyu dishes was not even on the menu. The teenagers lapped it up, happily eating foods they won't touch at home. The theatricality of presentation is mesmerising, the tastes tantalising. There's a reason he's an Iron Chef. I will return to Hawaii just to eat here again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good sushi, not impressed with the service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We are big fans of the Food Network and frequently watch Morimoto in action, so we had been anticipating visiting his restaurant in Hawaii for quite some time. However, for such a high end restaurant the service left something to be desired.

Once we were seated we waited...and waited... and waited before going to get a server ourselves. The manager promptly came over to apologize and promised we would be taken care of well by our server, who once again failed to come back to take our order.

Thoroughly annoyed we ordered something we had seen on the show, The Best Thing I Ever Ate. It was not. The sushi was good, but not excellent by any means. Would still give them the benefit of the doubt and try it again, maybe they were having an off night.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious with great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Modern and reviews of the hotel suggested trying Morimoto, so we had dinner there. The atmosphere is really cool, similar to the hotel, and it has a view of the harbor. The mori-mojito was amazing! We had sushi as an appetizer, which was good but nothing special. The main courses were great, though! I had the Angry Chicken (not as spicy as the name/menu description would lead you to believe) and my husband had the ishi yaki buri bop, which was prepared right at the table. We had mentioned when we made our reservation that we were on our honeymoon, and at the end of the meal, the server brought out a complimentary dessert with "congratulations!" written across the plate, which was a really nice touch. Throughout the meal, the service was good and the server was very attentive and polite. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a nice meal in Honolulu!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morimoto Waikiki also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing