We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Food!”
Review of Morimoto Waikiki - CLOSED

Morimoto Waikiki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Hobron
Transit: Morimoto Waikiki is on the Red Line for the Honolulu Trolley, exit Discovery Bay. If taking TheBus, the following lines are avaiable 8, 19,20,23,24,42 and E, The Country Express.
Description: Famed Iron Chef Masaharu Morimoto brings his seamless integration of Western and Japanese ingredients to his newest restaurant, Morimoto Waikiki. With a focus on top-quality fish and fresh ingredients, everything is prepared in-house from ingredients flown in from Japan four times a week. Our seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations feature the best seafood as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Our refreshing and vibrant ambiance is the perfect backdrop for the remarkable culinary experience that is Morimoto Waikiki. Welcome.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I ate by myself, as I was on a business so sat at the bar, and had impeccable service from the mixologists Wade and Matt. The cocktails are fresh and beautiful (White Lily). The food is beautifully presented and the tastes are amazing - a pineapple tempura with jamon iberico and a wasabi tzatziki, a duck foie gras custard with a sweet soy sauce reduction, sashimi....dessert, a matcha tea semifreddo with coconut gelee - really amazing taste juxtapositions that all seemed to work extraordinarily well together.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MJWSanFrancisco_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    280
    127
    64
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern, stylish, cool”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great decor, good wine list (and good sommelier recommendations for food matching)& great food. The Shrimp Tempura was awesome - the best I've ever had. The Pineapple Tempura with Jamon Iberico was also very good but preferred the Shrimp. It wasn't cheap but I thought it was good value for money and I really enjoyed our meal there and wouldnt hesitate to go back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank India M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Omakase”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Came here with the intention of ordering the omakase. It was an 8 course tasting, including a small pot of tea as a palette cleanser. It started with Morimoto's most famous and popular tartare (complete with mini spatula), then progressed to light fish, vegetable with oil and anchovy fondue, foie chawanmushi, palette cleanser, assorted sushi, surf n' turf, and dessert. Great meal with great service and can't wait to try the other locations.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“truly iron chef stuff!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

try the wagyu carpaccio...it melts in your mouth and you melt with such gustatory pleasure! most of what is in the menu will make you feel like a judge for Iron Chef TV show. but I guess that's why it's such a great restaurant. The desserts are not only an eyeful but are truly sinfully good!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Absolutely Devine”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Was a spectacular place to share my birthday, the service was hard to get when we arrived for cocktails on the couch but when we moved to our table it was outstanding.
I Loved the dark lighting throughout, music was just just at the right level where you could hear it but you can talk easy.
The food melted in your mouth! The view was amazing (we where able to get a table on the harbour side, which we requested) Absolutely Devine! The price tag came with it, but on special occasions price is no object

Helpful?
Thank Danistyles85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morimoto Waikiki also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing