We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good feed for a great price”
Review of Steak Shack

Steak Shack
Ranked #6 of 2,405 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Still a good feed for a great price”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Suffering from jet lag after our early morning arrival, staying at Waikiki Shore & feeling hungry , but not a going out sit down dinner, so popped downstairs here for steak,salad/dressing & rice....I had chicken. Still as good as last year...tender & tasty...no fatty/gristly bits.
$14 for the 2 of us. Good, hardworking people.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RangerJohnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    743
    317
    69
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value, average food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We went the last night of our vacation, and based on all the excellent reviews were expecting a dynamite meal. Instead we discovered a greasy spoon that serves average food. I got the steak meal, my husband got the chicken. The meat was bland and oily. The salad was pain bag lettuce drenched in ranch. The rice was fine. We would recommend this place to someone who is looking for cheap food that will fill you on the beach, but don't expect it to blow your mind.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Maren_d17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I don't normally do Food Reviews but this one is worthy!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I normally write about my hotel experience on TA but I have to write about the Steak Shack. It's behind the US Army Museum and overshadowed by Subway so if you blink, you will miss it. But when you do find it, it's so great. For less than $9 per person, you can have yourself a nice meal. My husband and I both ordered the steak plate and a couple of drinks - $16.50 total (nice!) and the meal was awesome. They don't skim on portions and steak was full of flavor and cooked just right. The meal comes with a salad too. As I'm writing this, my stomach is grumbling just thinking about it! lol

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mktg_vixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big bang for you lunch buck”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great steak and chicken, friendly respectful service and a seat on the beach. What could be finer? Try it you can't go wrong.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food if you`re on a budget”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We read the reviews and had to try this place. It`s located on the beach near the Army Museum in Waikiki. We had a bit of trouble finding it, but once there, it was well worth it. My wife had the Chicken plate and I had the steak plate. Along with a Pepsi and a tip, we ate our dinner close to the beach for less than $17... that`s total! It`s nothing special... a walk up counter, public washrooms nearby, and outdoor seating, but the tasty food makes it all worthwhile. It doesn`t matter if you`re on a budget or not... you`ve gotta eat here...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thelamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak Shack also viewed

 

Been to Steak Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing