We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As great as their reviews”

Gone Surfing Hawaii
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.00*
and up
2-Hour Semi-Private Small Group Surfing Lesson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Gone Surfing Hawaii, we live the motto, "Less Work / More Surf" because being in the ocean isn't just our job, it's a lifestyle and we love it. Our qualified instructors teach all ages fundamental techniques that can have anyone surfing in no time. So whether you're charging waves for the first time, or taking your skills to the next level, let us bring a little "More Surf" into your life. When you're ready to journey beyond Waikiki, join us for a full day's adventure along the North or East shores exploring surf spots, sights and local foods. Gone Surfing Hawaii is a small, locally owned and operated company. All Our lessons and Tours start on the sand with ocean awareness and safety. Then we get you right into the surf for a rush of wind and waves. No worries, our licensed instructors are trained in first aid and lifeguard CPR. Once in the water, we show you how to read the waves, position your take off, and the etiquette of wave riding. Whether you're a one-on-one type or you prefer fun with friends, our customized lessons and tours are built to make your adventure on the waves one to remember.
South Pasadena, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“As great as their reviews”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Saw all of their great reviews on here so decided to try them out for our friends and kids this trip. Jojo did not disappoint. Great surfing and fantastic photos to boot (pis are extra charge but worth it). Everyone in our group got up. My buddy's GF was so into surfing that she want to go back to Hawaii next month. Thanks guys.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank killershotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    9
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
“Happy Teens”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Our 13 and 16 year old teens took two surfing lessons with Jedi. They had a fantastic time. There was a brief 15 minutes overview on land the first day and the rest of the lessons were on water. The kids said Jedi let them know what they were doing well and what would help on the next wave. They company is not part of a big hotel operation and stays away from the bigger crowds on the water. They offer shaded chairs and binoculars for viewing or you go can go next door to the best bar on the beach and have drinks. Although Jedi had the day off for our second lesson, they called him in because they kids requested him. I highly recommend Gone Surfing if you want happy and tired teens.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Get down with Gone Surfing”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My Wife and I almost didn't go surfing in Hawai'i because we were there for 5 days on a mini honeymoon and we spent 3 getting PADI certified for diving. On the last day, just 8 hours before our flight, we decided we needed to get a surf lesson. Low and behold, Gone Surfing had an amazing time for us to to go surfing. 8am to 10am and we booked this asap. Not to mention its Semi Private which is 2 to 3 people for $90 per person. It can't get better than this. What a deal!

Trevor, our instructor, was amazing. He spent just 15 minutes going over instructions and that's all we needed. Both my wife and I stood up on the first wave Trevor pushed us into and it is amazing, that board is a concrete sidewalk on the water and there is no reason to fear it. Only when you paddle back to wave location do you realize how much upper body strength you lack but Trevor easily towed the two of us using his toes to the location so we could keep on catching waves.

Thanks guys! The 2 hours out there on the ocean in the sun felt great and enjoyable.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJ V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San diego
2 reviews
“Jedi is an awesome instructor”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Jedi reminds me of Paul Rudd from Forgetting Sarah Marshall. He was our surf instructor and totally fit the bill. Great experience and made it super easy. He set My friend and I up with wave after wave and we got up easily every time. Meanwhile we saw other instructors out there and literally got into a collision. Jedi saw it coming the whole time and kept us safe while shredding the gnar.

Thanks so much Jedi and gone surfing Hawaii. We will Def be back.

PS sorry for taking so long to write the review.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joey22t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stand Up Paddle Board lessons”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

I really had a nice time! The staff is very good, and helpful. The equipments were in excelent conditions. I really recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Adriana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gone Surfing Hawaii also viewed

 

Been to Gone Surfing Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing