We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Interesting spot, nice trees and shrubs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koko Crater Trail

Koko Crater Trail
Book In Advance
$85.00*
and up
Oahu Koko Head Hike and Hawaii Kai
Ranked #8 of 317 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Honolulu
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting spot, nice trees and shrubs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a short hike inside a crater, which is very interesting. The best part is a grove of plumeria trees--go when they are blooming, anytime but the depths of winter. They are picked for Memorial Day lei, so don't go just after that holiday.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CookieHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,229
    387
    66
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Worth it for the view at the top!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I found out about this trail and just wanted to do it to be able to say I had done it. The hike is definitely a workout and more difficult than Diamond Head or other trails in the area but it's worth it just for the views at the top.

Make sure and take water and wear good shoes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lucky_3_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and great workout!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

After hearing about this from a local and climbing Diamond head 4 times in 7 days I knew I had to try this. I opted to not let my 12 and 14 yr old sons do this. Glad I made that decision. My cousin and I started this at 7am. It took us approximately 35-40min to get to top. We made a few stops. It's treachourous in spots. No where to hang on to like Diamond head. You are basically climbing straight up a old railroad ties and all. I am in shape I can walk 8 miles a day and I do 2 hours on my elliptical a day. But this made me sweat. I have bad motion sickness and didn't have my motion sickness patch on that day so vertigo hit me about 3/4 way up. So that took a few minutes to make sure I wasn't going to get sick. Toughed out the motion sickness and glad I did. So if you have motion sickness you may want to prepare.
The views are beautiful. You may need 2 bottles of water and start early. Climb up all the way and carefully follow the trails to the views. Great photo ops. The climb down was tricky. I don't suggest kids or hiking with a kid on your back. It's hard enough watching your own footing in spots it wouldn't be fun worrying about kids. And I think the climb is too steep to have a kid on your back.
Can't wait to do it again.

Helpful?
2 Thank michiganchic79
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“awesome view and great workout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The climb is steep but it is a relatively short hike. It took me around 40 minutes to go up and 30 minutes to come down. Would recommend one to carry some water and/or sports drink. I saw many people carrying bottles in hand though it is better to have a small backpack in order to maintain good stability.

The view from the top was awesome. I got my best pictures in Honolulu from there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandeep420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Junction, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a great workout, but take water!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The path is a little unstable in places, but the view is breathtaking no matter how far up you make it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koko Crater Trail also viewed

 

Been to Koko Crater Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing