We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just sooo goood!”

Bubbies Homemade Ice Cream
Ranked #17 of 103 Dessert in Honolulu
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Los Altos Hills, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It's just sooo goood!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This establishment has been here for many decades and reason why is that it just simply very good! Many different flavors with Mochi. A must visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BruceSF40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    58
    11
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good ice cream, interesting pies, but not a fan of the praised mochi.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I noticed the mochi ice cream getting loads of praise in the reviews, but I honestly didn't enjoy it. The wrap is sticky and flavorless. I guess it would be good on the go, because the wrap keeps the ice cream in, and you don't need silverware. But again, it got great reviews, so maybe I just don't have a taste for it. The regular ice cream is really good, and they have some interesting pies. The names of the pies are even more interesting, I got a kick out of them.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snarlz42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ice Cream on the Go”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was very curious about the unique ice cream dessert. The outside is wrapped in a rice dough that really didn't have much flavor and is a bit chewy, but it keeps in the ice cream so you can walk and eat it! The ice cream was really delicious! They do have many flavors, my favorite was the chocolate espresso! I went to the location at Koko Marina Shopping Center, its close to Hanauma Bay and Sandy beach. Its a great inexpensive treat for a hot day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Bubbie's!! Best mochi ice cream on the planet.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Some say the best mochi ice cream on the planet. I agree. Always good special mochi flavors and the cones (sold by weight) are excellent. Slightly off-color menu item list keeps the college crowd amused while waiting, and waiting, and waiting to get to the counter and order. That's the only drawback, the lines! They often go out the door and if the counter kids are having a case of the "slows," which happens, there can be a long wait. But: best mochi ice cream on the planet! Keep calm and wait in line.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juneauite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
545 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“unique, changing list of flavors”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

So many unique flavors of mochi that you can't find in the supermarkets.

Tried the cantaloupe, guava and chocolate strawberry. But the best was green tea. But that may just be because I am a green tea fanatic.

We bought some to bring home and eat later. If you decide to do this, I would recommend taking them down for 5 minutes or so before eating them so that the ice cream can melt a little.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubbies Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Bubbies Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing