We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kani Ka Pila and Live Music”

Kani Ka Pila Grille
Ranked #75 of 2,337 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Kani Ka Pila and Live Music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Started with wings and had the fish and chips. It was just simple food but oh so delicious. It is worth the trip and the live entertainment at 6 pm is good too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    213
    53
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Aloha Spirit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were in Honolulu for just three dinners and we ate them all at Kani Ka Pila Grille. The original draw was the Hawaiian music we heard as we strolled by the hotel. We were seating promptly and were able to enjoy some wonderful music and refreshing cocktails. The food was good. The next night, tired after an-all day tour of Honolulu and Pearl Harbor, we were able to drag ourselves up the street from our nearby hotel, The Waikiki Parc, for pupu's and beer. The pork quesadilla was awesome! And the martini.....Wow! We tried to get into Roy's the next night, but the 45 minute wait seemed excessive so...up to "our regular" we walked. Good meal again...and the martini Wow! Wow!.....Service on the first two nights was excellent; the third night, not so. We were charged twice for the same item, but when that was pointed out, the mistake was corrected. The music each night was very good. Prices were Hawaii "reasonable."

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SCFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Adorable, place....at the pool, with live Hawaiin band...food was good, very relaxing. service was great, prices were decent........would go back again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Pool Grille”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Excellent little grille that overlooks the Outrigger Pool. Great Hawaiian Music at night and is a great place to be just to relax and enjoy your vacation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
233 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“If you go for no other reason go for the music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We lived in Hawaii for many years; Now whenever we visit, one of our favorite places for top local Hawaiian music is the Kani Ka Pila Grill in the Outrigger Reef. You may be in the heart of Waikiki, but at the Grill it's like you're in a little local setting. Every night 6-9PM some of the best local music you will hear. Our favorite is always Kawika Kahiapo on Thursdays He is usually joined by a various number of other great Hawaiian musicians. The first night we went he was joined by Del Beasley AWESOME! And there is always impromptu hula which is fantastic! On another night we saw Sean Naauao perform, also top list! The food is good, we usually work our way sharing pupus (appetizers). The Reef sampler is always a good choice, the wings aren't bad, and the Calamari is also good... if you want to go real loco try the Ahi Poke! We went three times, one night we shared the Pulled Pork Sliders, and the Chicken Caesar salad. We had excellent service; Clifford, and Debbie were both friendly, and helpful... they knew we were there for the music and the ambiance. They didn't hover and each night they let us enjoy the whole evening. One night was a little loud at the bar because of the NBA playoffs, but usually the entertainment takes center stage. Drinks were fine. We just think this is one of the great places to enjoy snacking, a few drinks and some of the best music on the Island.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Life-travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kani Ka Pila Grille also viewed

 

Been to Kani Ka Pila Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing