We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable experience on O'ahu”

Hawaiian Surf Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.91*
and up
Private Surf Lesson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience ADVENTURE away from the crowds!!! Hawaiian Surf Adventures offers Surf Lessons (which include an un-crowded surf break), Stand Up Paddle Lessons/Rentals AND the beloved Hawaiian double-hull Canoe Tour! Specializing in beginners, we keep our classes small and our instruction is sincere.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Santa Monica, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An unforgettable experience on O'ahu”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was among my top three experiences on the island of O'ahu as a first-time visitor. The guide, Nobe, is extremely knowledgeable about ocean navigation and the geological forces that created the Hawaiian islands, and was willing to answer questions before, during and after the canoe tour. Nobe spoke authoritatively as a true denizen of the Hawaiian islands.

If you suffer from hydrophobia or simply don't know how to swim, you can still enjoy going out in the canoe. Or if your bones are starting to feel the passage of time and you're not sure about surfing, you can still enjoy going out in the canoe. Just keep in mind that you will be paddling most of the time so kinesis will be required from you or you won't be going anywhere.

I recommend the outrigger canoe tour to anyone who wants to learn how the early explorers left their home islands and found Hawaii, and to anyone who would like a break from the crowds at Waikiki. This area is very peaceful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LordSakana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSASurf, Owner at Hawaiian Surf Adventures, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Aloha! Thank you SO much for your review! You touched on some great points and we appreciate you sharing that with others. We hope to see you again! With Aloha, Lisa :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    21
    9
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a wonderful experience”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nobi our outrigger guide and historian was absolutly the best...It was alot of work but Nobi was so good at giving us direction of when and how to keep us on course and always such wonderful praise...his history of his native island Oahu was unbelieveable ...not only the history of how the islands were made but how they were discovered by other Pacific islanders...and his lessons on how ancient travelers were able to read the stars, the waves and the clouds and etc where so interesting...It was an amazing experience...maybe stiff for several days from the experience (paddling) but it was soooo worth it...Thank you Nobi you are a big credit to your wonderful Island of Oahu

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSASurf, Owner at Hawaiian Surf Adventures, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Aloha Jean, Thank you very much for your great review! I'm so glad that you appreciated Nobi's tour - it means a lot to all of us that the tour is genuine and educational on facts that aren't common knowledge about Hawaii. Glad you recognized that :) We hope you will come back on your next trip to Oahu! With Aloha, Lisa :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
1 review
“Beautiful.... a great experience !”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our guide, Nobe, was very helpful in teaching how to paddle the canoe and gave us a lot of information about the history of Hawaii and how the early people that came to the Islands navigated in the open ocean. It was an incredible experience to be recreating that early mode of transportation and learning the history at the same time.
And all this came with a very nice aerobic workout!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSASurf, Owner at Hawaiian Surf Adventures, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Aloha Carol,
Thanks a bunch for taking the time to review your canoe tour - it means a lot to us and to Nobi. :) I'm so glad you had a great time and we hope that you will visit us again! With Aloha, Lisa :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun paddle”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

It was supposed to be a 1.5 hour instruction and paddle. I went with low expectations and had a great time. Our guide asked if anyone had anywhere else to be and nobody in the group did. We spent about 2.5 hours out on the ocean. We got to jump off & swin, had turtles and an overall great time. The guide gave us a very informative history of the area and the island.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HappyInHawaii08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSASurf, Owner at Hawaiian Surf Adventures, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Aloha! Thank you so much for taking time to review your Stand Up Paddle lesson! I'm so glad that you had a great time and I will share this review with your instructor. Best wishes to you, Lisa :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“History & geography lessons plus exercise!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The outrigger tour was the best tour (and we went on several) that we took during our one week vacation the end of September! We had beautiful weather & the scenery from the bay was true Hawaiian beauty. Nobe, our guide, knew so much history & explained the geography so well, that we truly understand the navigators and their transportation now. We are in awe of their feats! He also taught us how the island was formed from volcanoes and about the "flora and fauna". You must row an outrigger with Hawaiian Surf Adventures if you want an appreciation of the Olde Hawaii!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LynetteMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSASurf, Owner at Hawaiian Surf Adventures, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Aloha Lynette! Thank you very much for your great review of the canoe tour! Nobe is awesome and I'm glad you appreciated him as much as we do :) Hope to see you again! With Aloha, Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaiian Surf Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Hawaiian Surf Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing