We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,654)
Filter reviews
4,654 results
Traveler rating
3,181
991
298
108
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,181
991
298
108
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the study sunrise pool day bed pool area ala moana shopping waikiki beach adult pool our honeymoon main pool min walk amazing hotel pool staff the main strip partial ocean view friday night fireworks city view heart of waikiki
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,088 - 1,093 of 4,654 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2016 via mobile

Great location at the far end of Waikiki near to marina and walking distance to Alamoana Shopping Centre. Dinner at Morimitos was a stand out. Close to public transport and rental car company across the road.
Double room with partial sea view overlooking pools was fantastic.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank FionaM3391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2016

Three nights and enjoyed the entire stay. On arrival, friendly conversation at reception checking in and no queues with bags promptly delivered to our room.

We stayed on the 25th floor with a large balcony at the side with views of the pool and the sea as well as parts of the business district.

The room was modern (goes with the name), well decorated and clean. No problem with any of the room or the room service.

We booked a Mustang convertible car from the hotel direct from the concierge. This was fast an easy to do the night before and the pricing matched the best I could find with discounts on the Internet. For a day trip round the island this was an excellent service, and the car was able to be dropped of at the hotel on return after-hours saving on both the overnight parking fees and a the next morning drop off if we had booked elsewhere.

Two pool areas both clean an tidy with pool attendant to provide towels and wipe down the lounger. Pool bar and food service available with the wave of a hand.

For better coffee however we popped next door to the Aroma cafe, an easy stroll.

It's a bit of walk or Trolley ride for $2.50 to get to Waikiki beach but that is worth doing especially in the evening if you like the nightlife.

Plenty to do at night close by as well, just stepping out to the beach and wandering in the direction of Waikiki, lots of places to eat, drink or just sit on the beach watching the sunset.

Given the chance we'd stay again!

Room tip: We like going up high with a side view of the water to get a view with both city and beach
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarcusWilkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2016

The Modern Honolulu is a pure gem. Situated near Ala Wai Harbor, the hotel is within minutes to Kalakaua Avenue and the famed Waikiki Beach. With sweeping views of the ocean (pay for the upgrade it is worth it) there is something truly magical about watching the waves crashing up against the rocks and taking in that sunset from your balcony (or pool) with bubbly.

The guest rooms are well appointed with very good amenities. The crisp design makes for a refreshing experience. The couch is very comfortable and there is plenty of space. The internet is quick, efficient. One note of caution for those who have a hard time sleeping in hotels. The guest rooms here have low platform beds, which means the mattress is also low to the ground. As for the service, in room dining staff was stellar and so too was the banquet team.

If you are looking for a wedding spot in Honolulu, Cassie is a unicorn. Have no idea what planet she is from...oh yeah, planet Awesome! Cassie is great to work. She is kind and very good at what she does. She basically made sure that it was one night to remember! [Hint: if you plan it accordingly, the Hilton right next door has a fireworks show every Friday night - so there's that]. The food is amazing. The setting is amazing (Sunset Pool & Bar). Everything was amazing.

We would definitely go back to The Modern Honolulu.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awrldtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2016

Came to The Modern for 4 nights during our honeymoon. The staff was incredibly friendly and always looking to be helpful. The rooms are very clean, well decorated, and although they're small, they're very comfortable. We were supposed to have a partial-ocean view and although you could see the water from a very specific angle on the balcony, I would not pay extra for what was mostly just a view of another hotel's parking garage again. Perhaps a pool view or something would have been nicer.
The pool areas are very nice. I particularly enjoyed the adult pool area - the chairs in the 'wading' pool were ideal for me to read in the sun, with one foot grazing water.
The Modern even surprised us with a small bottle of champagne, as a congratulations for the honeymoon!! This was a very fun and lovely surprise and definitely made our night!
The "secret" bar in the lobby was always very "happening" (think loud DJ music, fancy cocktails, people dressed up to go to the club next door) when we passed through at night - this was not quite the scene we were interested in, so we didn't go. The poolside bar and restaurant had very good service - friendly, prompt and quick. The food was good and the bartenders were very friendly.

Overall, we had a great stay at The Modern and I would absolutely come back.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Reena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2016

We stayed here for two nights and thought the hotel was elegant and unpretentious. There are two pools, which offer a nice view of the sunrise and set and the refreshments are lovely. Sunscreen and infused water is located conveniently in the open spaces and free of charge. Additionally the bookcase/library opens up in the evening to a festive speak easy type lounge with live entertainment. The staff is courteous and helpful at every step of the way and getting a cab is a seamless experience from their vallets. There is a five star restaurant on premise that I will definitely be back for.

Room tip: We stayed on the 14th floor which offered very generous views
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermitchness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews