We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Maui Girls!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were treated like Royalty at the Modern Honolulu. Nikko Sibilia (conference service manager) took the utmost care of us upon arrival and during our stay. Due to an error in our reservation in no due part of the Modern Honolulu, we were stranded since the hotel at the time was 97% full. Nikko came to our rescue! He was able to find us a room for our entire stay! He was always there to make sure that our needs were met. We felt secure that he was around to answer any questions we had. We feel so fortunate to have made a new friend in Nikko. We will definitely return to the Modern Honolulu because of him and definitely refer others to consider staying there. The valet, bellmen and front desk staff were helpful and welcoming. The lobby bar had the best local talent. If you decide to stay there, ask for Nikko and tell him the Maui Girls Sanoe and Leila said Hi! By the way, try their coconut mojito! Yummmooo!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,430 - 2,436 of 4,166 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a total of four nights and we absolutely loved it, what a fantastic hotel. We stayed in an Ocean Front Suite (with a view of Diamond Head) and it was magical, we loved our room and the view was spectactular. The hotel had everything we wanted, the staff were superb, the onsite restaurant Morimoto was delicious and the facilties were fantastic. We didn't manage to check out Addiction (heard it's very good), but the study/bar area was a lot of fun.

Would definitely recommend to those wanting to head to Waikiki who would like to avoid the huge high rises. The Modern had everything we needed and we'd stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The Ocean Front Suite was magical, we'd definitely book this again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank steph1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had a great time at the modern glad I read the reviews and booked partial ocean views we were on the 5th floor and couldn't fault the outlook. Service from everyone was exceptional just felt the carpets could do with cleaning and paint work needs a touch up but aside from that no complaints .

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Due to the hurricane we were hoping to check into the hotel a day early. When we arrived one of the workers on the front desk was quite unhelpful, saying our reservation was confirmed for the next day but at this stage they were not taking walk-ins (despite us having a reservation for the following day) so we couldn't book in a day early. It was only a few minutes after we spoke that I realised I hadn't given him my name or booking details so how did he know that my reservation was confirmed?

We then spoke to Ricardo the front desk manager who was so fantastic and so helpful! Once he had my details he noted we were already on the waiting list for a room that day, and invited us to leave our luggage with the hotel and use the pool facilities while we waited for a room to hopefully become available. It was very welcoming to finally be treated like a hotel guest especially under the stressful circumstances of a hurricane approaching! We were lucky enough to secure a room eventually and Ricardo even came looking for us by the pool to personally deliver our room keys. He is a genuinely warm, friendly guy and a credit to the hotel. Other staff were lovely as well - greeting us by name and also the very helpful concierge who gave great advice (go to Goofy's cafe around the corner for a laid-back, surfer vibe).

The hotel itself is really cool and stylish, with lots of open spaces and sleek, scandinavian furniture. The pool area is gorgeous with lots of umbrellas, cool music and we never had to wait long to get a sun lounge. We ordered twice from the menu by the pool and the food was pretty good (burgers, steak sandwich, tacos, etc). We also ate at Morimoto for my husbands birthday which we loved so much we returned again the next night. The hotel location is great as it's just before the thick of Waikiki madness so you don't run into too many crowds, but it's only a short walk to the lagoon and beach.

We really liked our room and had a great view of the lagoon and beachfront. The only downfall was the curtain wasn't very smooth to move across so was a bit of a struggle to open/ close. We also were given fresh towels every time housekeeping came even though we had hung them up and were happy to use again. Not big deals at all!

If I visit Waikiki again I would definitely stay at the Modern.

Room Tip: Higher floor on the ocean/ pool side, and away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank intrepid0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Nice relaxed, young feel to this hotel as soon as you walk in. Staff are very friendly and go out of their way to ensure you are comfortable. Our thanks to Jason(reception) for upgrade to room and to Tim(Food & Beverage) for our welcome cocktail whilst we waited. Its the little things that make the difference. We eat around the pool first night and it was excellent. Rooms are of high standard and very well appointed. The only down side was that on second day we couldn't get a lounge around pool but pool attendance suggested we go upto the beach pool on 2nd floor. Most of the lounges were in the sun and even though we mentioned this to pool attendance, they didn't seemed interested to assist. We therefore had to move them ourselves.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from main highway if getting a city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterSharon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed at the Modern in June this year & hotel is exceptional decked out - very modern minimalist but very ggod quality. Staff were excellent and our only gripe was the night club that operates Thursday Through Saturday. It was extremely noisy our first night there (Sat). Hotel would make a great stay if not there those nights. Only a few blocks from Ala Moana Centre (5 minute walk). Not most central spot for Waikiki strip (1km)

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We only stayed one night here as we needed a place to stay before heading back to the mainland. Wish we had decided to stay here for longer. Service was something else. We hardly got through the door before we had fresh lemonade in our hand and a cool towel. As soon as they realized the ungodly hour that we needed to be out the door we provided with a coffee machine to ease our morning. Even had a follow up call after it was delivered to make sure that we had everything that we needed. Lots of free bottles of water.
Bar area is nice and love the bookshelf touch. Makes me want to remodel my house to have similar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 4_inda_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
324 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $234 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Splitty, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing