We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Time at Modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We just got back Monday from Honolulu/Hawaii. We stayed at The Modern Honolulu hotel for 10 days. What a fabulous hotel! Beautiful, modern, fun, and oh the staff. I can't say enough great things about the staff there. 5 Star service! Brad, Caleb, Justin, and everybody just made us and all their guests comfortable. We traveled with our 4 kids (1 is over 21 and the other 3 are a lot younger). We met some nice people/families from Australia, Denmark, etc. We usually go to Maui for our Hawaiian vacation and have stayed at the Ritz Carlton and the Four Seasons, but our kids wanted to see Pearl Harbor this time. I can honestly say that the service at Modern was just as great as those two hotels. Chef Morimoto's restaurant (the original Iron Chef) is located at The Modern Honolulu Hotel. What a beautiful restaurant! We ate there many times and the staff were just wonderful. Addiction the hottest club in Honolulu is also located at the hotel. We went to Halekulani for dinner by the pool (pool was small and dated and the food was ok). We booked directly with Modern like we do with the other hotels. I highly recommend The Modern Honolulu hotel when you visit Oahu.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,472 - 2,478 of 4,130 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Modern is a great new resort that has many convenient advantages like walking distance to Ala Moana Center, many restaurants, and the white sands of Waikiki Beach. Everything we had at Morimoto's (in house Japanese restaurant) was excellent tasting. Very clean and spacious room and shower. But I am always impressed by the ease of making my usual last minute reservations. The reservations manager and front desk staff always make sure I get one of the rooms I prefer. And once there, everyone on staff is friendly and eager to make your stay comfortable and memorable. The modern is by far my favorite hotel in Honolulu.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KauaiVisitor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Great stay at The Modern! Very minimalist decor and rooms are awesomely modern. The bar ("The Study), was a great spot to get a drink after dinner. Bartenders are sweet and accommodating! A great spot on he edge of Waikiki. Perfect blend of city and chill...

Stayed: July 2014
Thank JMK311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Modern is well - modern! The rooms are large, staff attentive and we liked the location as it is mid-way between Waikiki and The Ala Moana Center. It was very busy though and probably not the best choice if you're after peace and quiet. (But the room was quiet - no complaints at all). The complimentary skincare and shampoo etc was lovely too.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I recently enjoyed a marvelous experience at The Modern Honolulu. We stayed at the Modern four nights, and everything about our visit, from beginning to end, was simply wonderful. Our room was spotless and provided pleasant views of both outdoor pools and the ocean. The staff could not have been more professional and accommodating. To cite but two instances: Caleb, who manages the pool bar, was always friendly, courteous, and attentive to the slightest of our needs; and Patience, the "goodwill ambassador" surprised us one evening with an ice bucket containing two bottles of Pepsi after my wife asked earlier in the day if there were a vending machine on the premises. Each of the servers was extremely pleasant and efficient; Erin A, for example, greeted us each morning for breakfast by recalling our names and engaging us in friendly and convivial conversation. As well, each of the concierges was very helpful in providing tourist advice regarding various sites and attractions. All in all the customer service was, by far, the best we have ever experienced. George S.

Room Tip: Request a room with an ocean view, preferably with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 530George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The MODERN is incredibly beautiful and the staff is stimply outstanding. I stayed one night and wished I could have stayed longer. I worked with the sales and conference teams and all of them were fabulous; especailly Patricia Guterres, Teresa Higa, Kelly Hamlett and Ashley Chang.
The front desk and valet were also amazing. I checked in with my dog and everyone was so friendly. Kudos to Brian for taking care of our car and entire front desk team!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerryann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable stay for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon. Ocean View King Room very nice indeed, with superb amenities, would definitely recommend. No recognition that it was our honeymoon, despite pre-advising, would be the only complaint! :-(

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank fly_russ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
284 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $233 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing