We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Modern Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Modern Hotel”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great modern (sorry) hotel with excellent staff and facilities. The view tends to be of the hotel unless your room faces away from Waikiki. The hotel is at the far end of Waikiki which has the advantage of being a less crowded but does require a bit of walking to get to centre of the action. I would strongly recommend the hotel for the holiday traveller.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the beach end and facing toward the parklands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 683denisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,849
    798
    213
    71
    36
See reviews for
656
1,857
202
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

The stay here was really nice and relaxing. The hosts and waiters were very friendly and welcoming from check- in to check-out... I would definitely recommend someone staying at this hotel. The bedrooms are lovely with great views. And the pool side is wonderful . They have an adult pool and a pool for everyone. Also there is a restaurant and club connected to the hotel not to mention the the location is excellent it right on the strip of wakiki so you can walk to many different restaurants and clubs I rate this a 5 star

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

* Price: $$$, 3 star
* Ambiance: chic, swanky, friendly (much improved!), 4 star
* Location: at the other end of the strip, closed to Ala Moana mall, Magic Island, less festive than the other hotels in middle of Waikiki strip. 4 star.
* Motif: chic, modern, swanky. 5 star.
* Service: friendly, the valet guys, front desk, house keeping are very friendly. The pool staff is sort of hit or miss. 4 star.

That is averaged to 4 star for me!

This is my updated review from previous one a few years ago when the Modern first opened.
The hotel is beautiful inside with most swanky pools in the whole wakiki. The service has been significantly improved from previously. The staff is much more engaged, friendly and pleasant!
From the time you get to the hotel, the valet guys greet guests and help them with luggage and check-in. At the front desk, you are served with cold towel and refreshments (which is a nice touch since it is really a hot day!) The front staff now check guests in with a smile!

The room is good size, modern decor with mostly white and gray with some wood accent. The towels are fluffy and luxurious! The only minor thing about the bathroom is the shower curtain which is clinging to your skin during shower and barely block any water. So, the floor is food every time someone takes shower.

There are two pools. The sunset pool is for adult only and the sunrise pool for everyone with comfy lounge chairs and beds, white Terry cover changed for every guest by the pool staff. There is live music daily from 5 to 8 pm. The pool staff is hit or miss. Some are very friendly and pleasant to get your chair set up. Some are sort of doing you a favor! The pools are bwautiful, not typical for waikiki! It is like Las Vegas pool party scene!

The house keeping staff is friendly! There is turndown room service in the evening with cookies, ice and waters.

While you stay here, you might treat yourself an expensive dinner at Morimoto restaurant on the second floor. It is a treat itself because iron chef Morimoto sometimes makes his presence here!

Other pros: free wifi, in room refrigerator, room service available, nice fluffy robes and slippers.

Con: $$$, most rooms have city or partial marina views, only few ocean view rooms, valet parking only, no on site laundromat (there is laundry service though), no courtesy room for late flight guests to clean up before flights.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and were pleased with the new and improved hospirality! Kudo to the customer relation department!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kukulimoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minato-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Really enjoyed the room, bed, service and food here. Location was fine, not far from Ala Moana Shops and an easy walk to the beach and Waikiki shopping streets, with a beautiful view over the yacht harbor and lagoon. Wooden-decked pool area was relaxing; lots of couples and families. Butler service was friendly and helpful, concierge the same, bell and check-in staff same. Bed was the best of the three hotels we visited this trip. Nice clean luxury, not fusty. Morimoto's was fantastic, food and setting; wines were mostly reasonable. Thought pricing was reasonable although not a bargain. Entrance hard to find the first time; drove past it twice and saw others looking for it as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed two nights at this hotel this month. And this was the first time that i stayed a bit far from the middle of Waikiki beach. But it actually wasn't that bad as i can make 20 mins walk to the shopping area. So overall location is decent for the hotel.

The hotel itself was great. The room was in very good size (plenty if room for packed and unpacked). Not to mention that it was very nice and clean. Services there were also top notch in my view.

I also recommend to try out its Japanese place on the 2nd floor. The place is romantic and food was extremely good though a bit pricy.

The bottom line is i recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Honolulu :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mellow7077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My partner and I just came back from one of our favourite holidays to date. We spent 10 nights at The Modern Honolulu and can happily say that this hotel made the trip all the more AMAZING.

At first we were a little concerned it was just a little further away to the beach than the other hotels but was soon to realise this was actually a positive in our stay.

As you walk into The Modern Honolulu you are welcomed by the most amazing smell. A smell I will only ever associate with The Modern Honolulu. A smell of friendliness, cleanliness and ‘home’. I was lucky enough to be able to purchase this smell and bring it home with me.

The hotel rooms itself are modern, clean and of quality. We spoke to others who stayed in other hotels and the complained about their showers not being strong enough, beds not being big or comfortable enough, the rooms not being clean and tidy. Let me assure you… the showers are AMAZINGA, the beds are WONDERFUL and every single day our rooms were clean from head to toe. We felt at home.

The Modern Honolulu staff were extremely helpful. We have travelled all around the world and have stayed in 5 star hotels and resorts and the level of service The Modern Honolulu staff provided was unbelievable. We called the Concierge a number of times asking for little things to be sent to the room and within 10 minutes we had a call back asking if all went well and was there anything else they could’ve done.

Everyday consisted of a visit to the pool. Again, the staff and cleanliness of the pools were 10/10. We visited the pool areas of the other big hotels and wasn’t impressed. We felt proud we were able to go back to OUR pool. They were loud, dirty and the chairs were plastic. My partner made a comment and I couldn’t agree more, at The Modern Honolulu it almost feels as if this pool is exclusive.

All in all we give The Modern Honolulu a big 10 out 10 and will be back there again next year

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just when I was losing faith in boutique hotels that are all flash with no service, along comes the Modern Honolulu. Such a welcome surprise. From the genuine welcome at reception to the super comfortable rooms, everything is just how it should be. Details like proper placement of the shower controls--on the wall opposite the shower head, so you don't get a cold shock of water--tasteful amenities, dimming lights, and supremely comfortable beds all make for a luxurious vacation. Stylish without being gimmicky, understated and well thought-out. Good restaurants and central location to other venues, plus quieter than central Waikiki. Plus smiling staff! When did you last encounter that at a trendy hotel?!??

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyageurK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,520 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Property: The Modern Honolulu
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing