We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My experience with The Modern Honolulu was amazing! The hotel staff and staff at Morimoto's Waikiki were exceptional and made sure that my stay was comfortable and relaxing to the very last detail. I had planned this as the bachelor party for my friend and the evening was absolutely amazing and really something that everyone will remember. The dinner we had at Morimoto's was amazing and Rachel and the servers and chefs made sure that our meal was exquisite. We were able to get VIP access to Addiction, their nightclub and it was fun! The music was good and the vibe was great! I would recommend anyone who is planning a trip to Honolulu to stay at The Modern if you're looking for a VIP, upscale experience. Be sure to put them at the top of the list!

Room Tip: It's worth the money to get a 1 bed suite. The ocean view and surroundings are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tosh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,523 - 2,529 of 4,124 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in June'14. I really liked the decoration and the modern/minimalistic feel of the hotel. Fantastic location and great service! You may end up waiting for the elevators in some cases but that's no biggie. The only change I'd do to the room would be to remove the shutters in the bathroom and put an actual wall or window that can help increase the privacy that people need in the bathroom. I appreciate the modern approach in design but privacy first when we are talking about bathrooms :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Volkan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I was stoked my "city view" room had a great view of the ocean, and in particular the "Kaisers" & "Rockpiles" surf breaks. It also had a city view, but I never really paid attention to that. It was a quick 5-10 minute walk to the beach. Good location if you want to shop at Ala Moana, little far if you want the full Waikiki experience. Everyone on staff greeted you with a smile all the time, and room was really comfortable & clean & roomy….no claustrophobia there. Had a great omelet from room service, also had a hamburger (from room service) that was pretty average.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here with family in January. Amenities were great, pool area is beautiful (and slightly heated) and food and drinks are amazing! Great getaway spot for couples or families. Fast wifi, and everyone you meet is super friendly and helpful. Made great friends with the other guests. There's a nightclub downstairs and a smaller lounge area to go at night too once the pool closes. Definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surfsup688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Ashley Chang/and her staff did a wonderful job. They exceeded their limits in expertise and I would definitely consider The Modern Honolulu for future business and pleasure!

Thank you so much for making it such a great experience for my couple.

Sincerely
Allyson Hoy
Wedding Planner

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allyson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just came back from a 10 night stay at The Modern and we loved every minute of it. We stayed in a partial ocean view room on the 12th floor so had a nice view of the water to the left and the mountains to the right of our balcony (and Ala Moana shopping centre straight ahead). The room was quiet and really spacious (as was the bathroom) and the light, contemporary decor gave the room a beachy, holiday feel - think modern Hawaii.

Both pools are lovely - at the Sunrise pool service was friendly and fast (definitely try a coconut mojito here, they are delicious). One night we had dinner at Morimoto and were seated outside overlooking the yachts with the sun setting - just beautiful (try the pork belly appetizer here, amazing!).

The cookies and bottles of water left in our room at the end of each day were a really nice gesture, as was being able to help ourselves to tea and coffee in The Study each morning (drinks at night in The Study are worth it it too, nice and laidback and the music the night we went there was really good).

Don't really get why some people think the location is a minus for The Modern - we thought it was actually a great spot as we could access Ala Moana and the Ward Centres easily at one end and Waikiki at the other. For the day trips we did, pick up was at the hotel next door, so everything was in easy reach and it was nice to have a leisurely walk back to the hotel after all the big dinners we had in Waikiki.

We thought maybe this would be a younger hotel but we didn't feel that at all - there was a real variety of ages staying here - young and older families, young couples, older couples and everyone in between. Sure, The Modern is a hip hotel but not in a pretentious way at all - the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and it was just an awesome holiday experience overall. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at the modern in May for 8 nights on our way back home from the US and Canada, we paid for a corner room with an ocean view which was expensive (the most expensive in all of our travel including New York and Las Vegas) but certainly had the "View" which Im sure is what we paid for. The staff were so attentive and helpful. Just a couple of points, the king size bed was on a platform which made for getting around it without hitting your legs quite a challenge and the bed was not "pillow top " comfortable as advertised but I did ask and received a cover for the top of the mattress which was only slightly better. We did not find the seating in the lounge area very comfortable however it did look nice. Our visits to the pool were not for too long as the umbrellas (only the size of a golf umbrella) did not shade very much at all and to get a daybed with a larger umbrella was an extra $150 for the day! The decking was also extremely hot to walk on once the sun had shone on it for a while. The staff at the pool were also very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. All in all we found the hotel clean, well serviced and in a good location not far from the beach or shopping centre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
275 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,566 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $232 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing