We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimal and magnificent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had originally booked to stay at The Modern for three nights, but as we were after a little more excitement than the relaxed resort we were previously staying in on one of the quieter islands, we brought our stay forward and were extremely happy with the decision.

The hotel is unlike others in the area in the sense that it has a clean, cool and minimal vibe. It has more of a European feel, something akin the hotels in Ibiza. The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable with gorgeous beds and linin.

My favourite area by far would have to be the pool area. We spent many days lazing on loungers reading a book and sipping cocktails. The food available is constant with the feel of the hotel – fresh and clean. It was great to have some healthier options on the menu after being inundated with the heavier cuisine you might associate with The States (read burgers and chips).

The staff were always gracious and willing to help us with any requests we had, and as with the hotel it was the little extras that made the experience excellent. Making up your pool loungers for you and having complimentary magazines like Vanity Fair in each room pushed my stay from good to great.

The Modern is less of a family hotel than many others we encountered in the area, which was exactly what we needed.

This is a hotel I could quite happily set up residence in for a month without feeling like I was in a hotel. This is the perfect place to be amongst the action of Honolulu while still having the relaxed environment we sought on holiday.

Room Tip: Street noise can be a bit of an issue, as can the night club on weekends - get a room on a higher fl...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliverjamesgould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,076)
There are newer reviews for The Modern Honolulu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,636 - 2,642 of 4,077 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

Love the hotel 3rd time I have been back but a poor experience has turned me off coming back.

Ordering our second round of cocktails at the Study turned out to be a debacle. They had run out of proper glasses due to a function they had going on at the same time so had to revert to dumping our fab cocktails into wine glasses seriously not sexy. When we complained it was all too hard 20 minutes Plus for a rude and inexperienced Manager with attitude to say oophs sorry thats THE BEST we can do sorry seriously does not cut it... despite our constant patronage, Morimotos, spa you name it they found it offensive to offer another round of drinks due to it not being a good business decision their end was outragious seriously poor form... FIRE the manager without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamCranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Modern is located slightly out of the centre of Waikiki however the walk is easy and pleasant. It's a really fun hotel. The staff are in white uniforms with cardigans and the decor is unique! There are several fantastic bars and pools and it's about a 10 min walk from Ala Moana Shopping Centre for those who love to shop!

We were initially placed in a room that happened to back onto the elevator shaft however I'm the worlds lightest sleeper so a quick call to reception saw us moved to a corner suite with great views over the Marina. The rooms are tastefully decorated and continue the hotels playful theme.

We really enjoyed the 2 nights we spent at The Modern!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that back onto the elevator shaft. They do switch it off at night (possibly from 10pm-6a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeniAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I've stayed at a lot of good hotels over the decades that I've traveled. 3 stars to 5 stars to hostels.

This is the single best hotel I've stayed at. Quality is excellent. The staff is genuinely helpful. Wow.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I just returned from a week in Waikiki and was fortunate enough to stay at The Modern Honolulu (my first time). From the moment we arrived we were delighted and astonished. The aroma of plumerias greeted us immediately upon entry (very subtle but perfect). I found myself popping down to the lobby throughout the week just to catch another whiff. The rooms were great, so clean looking (all white) with a slight pop of hawaiian color. No tacky artwork or paisley bedspreads. The pool area was wonderful. NEVER had to fight for a place to sit (such a nice change from a huge hotel). And, yes, I almost cried when I had the coconut mojito (their specialty) because I could not imagine my day getting any better. But THEN...we ate at Morimoto restaurant. I can honestly say I have never had such an amazing meal. In fact, we ate there every single night just to try new items. By night two they even remembered what drink we liked. Everything was outstanding. My faves were the Crispy Rock Shrimp Tempura and the Spicy Alaskan King Crab.

Room Tip: Head up to the adult pool if you don't have kids, and you'll feel like you are in a mini lag...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Firstly, let me say that the staff were friendly and very keen to please! However, we had booked well in advance and communicated regarding our needs. We had requested a king ocean view on high floor. When we arrived in this room it was really facing the building next door and overlooking the pool with a view around the corner of the marina and the ocean off in the distance. While this was a bit of a disappointment we were not too concerned with that.

Our room had been described to us as the best in this category but when we arrived in the room there was a huge water stain on the carpet which had at some recent time been from a leak in the airconditioning unit. There was a distinct musty damp smell and also a nasty red wine stain on the carpet. The carpet was also starting to fray and looked worn and shabby. There were many marks on the walls and the room looked quite tired. We were disappointed, so mentioned it to the front desk. To their credit, they offered to move us to another room, which we accepted as we would not have been happy with the mouldy smell.

We accepted a move to a room on a much lower level 5, on the road side of the hotel which had an obscured view of the marina. This room was in much better condition but was not what was promised. For the inconvenience, the manager credited our account with $50.00. Considering the expensive cost of the rooms, this was only a token gesture. I have travelled to many countries recently and research the hotel accommodation with great scrutiny. Compared to other hotels in popular places in North America and Canada, I would have to say that The Modern was probably my least favourite. It is a young persons hotel, lacks the "pamper factor" and l would choose differently next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank highflyer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

As a meeting planner, The MODERN Honolulu was an exceptional property to work with. Everyone on staff was a pleasure to deal with and they are super creative! Their website is a wonderful planning tool if you are planning off-site excursions, as the site only features trusted suppliers. The whole vibe of the hotel is cool but very friendly - I felt like everyone on staff was invested in the success of each guest's stay. I hope to not only bring another group to The MODERN, but would go there on my personal vacation. A 10 out of 10 for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camille U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
242 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,557 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $236 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing