We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Definitely go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Bacolod, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Would Definitely go back”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Loved this hotel. From its location, room and most of all, service. Service was top notch! I have stayed in a lot of hotels and their service here is one of the best. I ordered a few things online and had it delivered at the hotel. The staff on duty would always inform me if a package has arrived for me. Also, we asked a lot of questions on how to plan our day and the concierge on duty would always be very helpful. Esp. Stephanie. My friend left her cellphone at the Ala Moana Mall and just realized it when we were already at the hotel. The concierge on duty (forgot her name) assisted us all the way. She called the mall and asked them to check if the phone was still there and on our way back to the mall, she called us again to inform us who to look for and checked on us again if we have already found the phone.

So overall, I really loved my stay here. Would definitely recommend this to anyone going to honolulu. It is also near the Ala Moana Mall and the beach.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank symphony88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,849
    798
    213
    71
    36
See reviews for
656
1,857
202
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon, before spending some time on the Big Island. It was his first time on Oahu, and he enjoyed it tremendously, mostly I think due to The Modern. Wow! I have stayed at many hotels, and have been fortunate enough to stay at many nice ones, but The Modern is extremely special. Even though you are in a big city (a lot of people's negatives about Wakiki and Honolulu), this hotel feels like an oasis of peace and tranquility.

Another special thing about the Modern is loveliness of every single one of the staff. Everyone from the receptionist who greeted us, to the concierges who nicely printed out directions for us, to the waitresses at breakfast, they are all warm and treated us with a generosity-of-spirit that seems genuine. I feel everyone takes great pride in doing their job excellently and they sincerely wanted us to have a great time. Just sitting at the pool and having a person from the wait staff bring us ice water was so kind, not to mention the fresh fruit and sunblock provided. Really, I cannot praise them enough.

For me, it was an ideal location. Just a short walk to the beach, but not right on the beach or in the bustle of the city. And the décor was warm, stylish, and made me want to just move on in.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a first class hotel; the rooms are big and clean; the staff goes out of their way to be helpful and the facilities including the pool, spa and out side bar are all great.
I would stay at the Modern Honolulu again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We spent 2 weeks at the Modern to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and could not be happier with our hotel choice. It is a big hotel with the feel of small boutique hotel. The style is modern yet warm, with a lot of wood and greenery. The rooms are a nice size, very comfortable beds and some nice touches, turn down service (I miss my nightly cookie), free bottled water, larger than normal bath products and a ukulele.
The location, which was a minus to some, was a plus to us. A bit removed from the main tourist area yet within easy reach by foot or public transportation. The hotel is an easy 5 minute walk to the beach but I suggest you go 5 minutes more and use the beach behind the Hale Koa.
The pool are was also nice, enough seating, comfortable lounges and a nice bar. The service at the pool was sometimes slow but always friendly. We also really liked the live music at either the pool or The Study.
The real star of the Modern is the staff. They were attentive, friendly and went out of their way to provide good service. I booked over the chat function of their site, after finding a cheaper price on Expedia. They matched the price and upgraded our room to a balcony. Upon arrival we also got a a free drink and a nice note congratulating us on our anniversary. We made good use of the concierge service, I had several exchanges with Yuka before our arrival and she set us up well. I wish I could refer to more staff by name as many deserve to be singled out. Again, it felt like the service you would get with a smaller boutique hotel.
We have stayed in many wonderful hotels so it means something that my husband have put it at the top end of our list of all time greats.

Room Tip: We had a balcony ocean view room with a lovely view. The balcony was an upgrade but well worth it to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marygott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have just returned from a week at The Modern, and we could not speak highly enough of the staff, facilities and the location of the hotel.
Prior to our arrival the hotel was organising restaurants and special arrangements for our forthcoming trip, to celebrate our Anniversary.
EVERYBODY was smiling, helpful and welcoming, during our stay
The location of the hotel is ideal. Close to the Ala Moana shopping centre, but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the busy Waikiki strip, but still within walking distance of the various quality restaurants. You must also eat at the Morimoto, a great restaurant inside the hotel.
This was our first trip to Hawaii in over 20 years, having holidayed locally in Australia and in Asia - having experience The Modern - we will back!!

Room Tip: We had a king bed with ocean view. We watched the fireworks from our balcony and was able to enjoy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I'm a local girl, born and raised in Hawaii. I know the island pretty well and have a lot of visitors from the mainland. The Modern is my go to hotel that I recommend to them. It has such a great feel, fun nightlife, fantastic location, amazing views, and the best parties!! One of my favorite things to do is do happy hour at the pool deck, listen to live music, enjoy great cocktails and pupus. The Modern is fantastic for private events as well! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danshellshawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

After 12 years of visiting Honolulu, finally they have the right hotel for Californians.......not to say it is not right for the rest of the world......"
Nowadays all hotel companies are trying to create that happening atmosphere..... Maybe they should visit the modern honolulu and learn a few tricks. Great service, in a trendy luxury hotel. Did I mention it is not scripted......it is genuine and sincere.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Martha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,520 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Property: The Modern Honolulu
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing