We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The best hotel I've stayed at in the US. Modern and chic as promised.
Not cheap obvs, but you get what you pay. Best treatment ever!
The concierge staff along with all staff were the most friendly and professional staff ever. Always happy, friendly and ready to help.
The spa was great for all the treatments (if you pay for them), but sauna, jacuzzi or simliar were missing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,073)
There are newer reviews for The Modern Honolulu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,812 - 2,818 of 4,074 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Planned a last minute family stay-cation holiday for the 4th of July and had a really enjoyable vacation. Everyone enjoyed the clean facilities and friendly staff. The pool was fun for the kids and adults. My wife especially enjoyed the coconut mojitos from the pool bar. We all participated in the 4th of July bar-b-que. We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 808RonR808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My family (6 adults) had our first annual Christmas in Hawaii and we chose The Modern Honolulu for our week long stay. The service was slow due to the Holiday rush (so many people all over Waikiki) but otherwise, the overall experience was enjoyable. The hotel location is away from all the hustle bustle of central Waikiki but it's only a 5 min drive/20 min walk. The rooms were clean/comfortable. We had delicious breakfasts every morning, poolside at the Beach Bar. Concierge was super helpful in helping us plan all our activities/dinner reservations. The distance to the beach is a short walk and of course, an ABC store is just a block away. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vero S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent the forth of July at the Modern and totally enjoyed our experience. It was walking distance to everything in Waikiki. They had a barbecue for the forth of July and we watched the fireworks that evening. Looking forward to spending another holiday at the Modern.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrippingJAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Recently spent my 10th wedding anniversary at the Modern Hotel in Honolulu. Our room was wonderful and the staff courteous and helpful, abundant "Aloha" was in evidence. Sunset and the evening from the pool deck was truly beautiful.
The hotel is well located with close proximity to Waikiki Beach and Ala Moana Beach park. Many don't realize that the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon is also a public park excellently managed by Hilton as part of their lease from the State.
My wife had a great time shopping with all the shops of Waikiki close at hand and the Ala Moana Shopping Center a short walk away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed at Modern for a wonderful New Year's Eve holiday. Hospitality, professionalism and overall entertainment were 5-star to say the least. Guest service extra special with personal greeting from General Manager, Mr. Gerald Glennon. Overall hotel setting absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdrchawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in early December and loved it! The staff were always friendly and helpful. We stayed in a one bedroom ocean front suite and loved it. The room had great views over the harbour and beach and was clean, modern and fresh looking. We did have an issue with the tv in the bedroom, but after a few calls to the front desk, a technician was sent to fix it.
Breakfast was included and thankfully, it was not buffet style. You are given a menu, which had a great range of choice and was always fresh and tasty, and no excessive wastage!
Meals at the pool were also very good.
It was close to Ala Moana, about a 10 minute walk, and approximately a 20 minute walk to the heart of Waikiki.
We loved staying here as it was away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki, but close enough to walk there.
After our four nights here, we moved to the Halekulani, which was very nice, but on our next trip, we would definitely stay here over the Halekulani!!

Room Tip: Our room was 1411, corner suite with extensive views of beach and marina
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goslats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
236 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,556 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $188 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing