We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, in walking distance of Ala Moana Shopping Centre & the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great hotel, in walking distance of Ala Moana Shopping Centre & the beach”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were only in this hotel 1 night pre cruise and for our purpose were very happy. Staff were really helpful and we walked to the Ala Moana Shopping Centre. We were there on a Friday Night and watched the fireworks from our balcony which was lovely. Some of the room furniture was showing signs of wear, not really what is expected of a 'modern' hotel but it was comfortable enough. Concierge staff were amazing, well chosen for the position. We also stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach and this would be our choice next visit as the rooms were superior and better location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collecting-info
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,768
    775
    209
    70
    34
See reviews for
632
1,807
194
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suburban Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed for two days at the Modern Honolulu before we boarded a cruise ship around the islands. We couldn't have been happier with the hotel. It's beautiful in every aspect - the check in area is cool and inviting, the rooms are well planned out and well equipped, and the bedding is extremely comfortable. The pool areas are stunningly beautiful and relaxing. We had breakfast on the pool deck and it was fantastic. The food was beyond expectations. We also had dinner one night and it was also very pleasing. This hotel is conveniently situated in the center of everything in Honolulu and is a quick walk to the beach. We would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a hotel in Honolulu.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view room and it was perfect since we weren't in the room that often and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mofend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

2nd time I stayed at the modern hotel. Love everything about this hotel - great restaurants, awesome pools, friendly staff, good workout room, beautiful rooms and overall great looking hotel. It's perfect for adults - not a hotel for kids

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is really nice and modern. It is in a really central location near the ala moana shopping centre and park and beaches. The room was spacious and modern. The kids loved the hotel and though the pool was not as big as the one in Maui they enjoyed the few days in Honolulu.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyairbuspilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I had a 22-hour layover in Honolulu on our way back to Seoul, Korea. I downloaded the ipad app "Hotel Tonight" and found this charming boutique hotel and booked a room on the shuttle bus from the airport which was equipped with wifi. The hotel is very nice, super chic, and the staff does whatever they can do to make you feel VIP from the moment you arrive. The room was very clean, had a california king with very soft sheets and fluffy pillows. the balcony had two contemporary lounge chairs and a view to the marina which is next to the beach. After spending a few hours on the beach and walking around the shopping areas, we went back to the room to drop off our shopping bags and ask the concierge where we could get some late-night local food. This was around 11:30pm so we were limited in choice, as most of the options within the criteria of local fare were bars with kitchens that were already closed, or about to close. The concierge looked up and called many places and was quite motivated to find the best place for us to eat. He even went over to the bar to ask several bartenders for their best recommendations. That was something that really stood out in terms of describing the great service at the Modern.
We were informed that booking a room automatically puts guests on the comp list at the nightclub "Addiction" located in the hotel. The club was packed, and we enjoyed a few drinks before conveniently retiring to the room upstairs.
The next morning, we woke up early to have a nice breakfast poolside. The banana pancakes and kona coffee was an excellent pairing. We ate at the comfort of the poolside sunbeds. Unfortunately, we had to hurry back upstairs to pack up and leave for the airport.
In such a short timeframe, we didn't expect too much out of it, but we left Hawaii proud of ourselves for really maximizing the time we had there, with the help and comfort of the Modern. I recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a smaller, minimal-contemporary design, boutique hotel in Waikiki. I should mention that the hotel is not directly on the beach, but it is a very short walk from the Duke Kanahamoku Lagoon and Waikiki Beach (around 3 minutes).

Room Tip: If you booked a standard room, check availability and ask for an upgrade to a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank numb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We planned a vacation to Honolulu with 5 friends for a girls week away, one of us with a baby and husband also. Our experience at the Modern was the highlight of our trip and made the vacation even more memorable. The staff were always attentive and friendly and helpful with hotel and other inquiries. The hotel is ultra modern, clean and it's relaxing vibe through the interiors and staff is ideal when on vacation. We ended up cancelling another booking at another Waikiki hotel to prolong our stay at the Modern and would recommend this hotel to travelers who want a carefree experience with outstanding service.
The location was perfect for us being a quick 10 minute walk along Waikiki to the main shopping strip, and only 2 minutes to Ala Moana. The sunset from the Modern was picturesque and the sunrise pool had a fun and private feel.
The Study bar downstairs and Addiction nightclub beneath the hotel were great for free access if desired and a short walk home! The rooms were quiet and private and the hotel appeared to cater for all types of travelers.
Highly recommended and I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel was well worth its price. It is located at the end of Waikiki beach, and has no direct beach access, but it is not too far out. Its decor is clean and minimalist with friendly touches (my room was decorated with a ukulele). Others have mentioned the little touches like the complimentary bottled water or the free ice cream poolside - awesome and makes you feel welcome. Very friendly staff, from reception to the pool service to the restaurant. I would recommend trying the omakase dinner there - a bit pricey but very delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank einmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,252 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Property: The Modern Honolulu
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing