We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, great service, overall an excellent hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, great service, overall an excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for the start of our honeymoon and we definitely were not disappointed. We had a partial ocean view which was very nice! The service from arrival to departure was great! The food here was also very good. Glad we chose this hotel to start our honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JustinRusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMHmgr, Rory C, Guest Experience Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Aloha JustinRusso,

Congratulations! Mahalo for choosing THE MODERN HONOLULU to be a part of this momentous occasion in your lives. We’re absolutely thrilled that from check in to check out we were able to over exceed your expectations! Please be sure to come back to us soon as we would love to celebrate future anniversaries with you! Thank you very much for your great review! We look forward to welcoming you back to our MODERN paradise soon!

Mahalo,

Rory Cosma
Guest Experience Manager
THE MODERN HONOLULU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,421
    673
    185
    61
    32
See reviews for
530
1,586
172
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,083)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have been looking for a good hotel to stay at in Honolulu that is nice, but quiet, as I travel often to Honolulu for business. The Modern is in a great location, away from the tourist crowds with great food and service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mccurdy2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMHmgr, Rory C, Guest Experience Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Aloha mccurdy2200,

Thank you very much for your amazing review. I have to agree with you. Our location is perfect for any business traveler, as our hotel is a quick and easy ten minute drive to downtown Honolulu. Please let us know if there’s anything we can do to make your future stays with us, just as great as the first!

Mahalo,

Rory Cosma
Guest Experience Manager
THE MODERN HONOLULU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at The Modern Honolulu and truly enjoyed every aspect of it ! My room was beautiful - well appointed and immaculate! The furnishings are simple and well thought out, not cluttered or bulky. crisp clean and fresh looking. The room decor was contemporary and modern, while feeling warm, uncommon and creative.
The staff at the hotel was great. Valentino the valet noticed I had left my cell phone in the car upon arrival and delivered it to me before I noticed it was missing. Derek at the Pool Bar - also great. And even when I could be extended a late check out due to incoming guests, I was offered several alternatives to allow me to stay late and enjoy the resort until my flight.
A great stay all around and one I highly recommend!!

Room Tip: the ocean view rooms are wonderful and on Fridays they provide a perfect view of the Waikiki fire wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islandeventsmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMHmgr, Rory C, Guest Experience Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Aloha Islandeventsmanager,

Thank you very much for the great review! I love how you used the word uncommon to describe our guest rooms. At THE MODERN HONOLULU, we embrace being uncommon! It is our mission to ensure that our guests are able to experience unparalleled services and amenities that are so uncommon to our “common” competitors. One of the things at our hotel that is uncommon is our amenity service. Guests celebrating their honeymoon or anniversary are presented with our unique arrival amenity called, Pagne and Pleasure. Its two champagne flutes layered with a strawberry gelee and a chocolate swirl. The layered flutes are then topped off with a sweet Proseco to finish off this perfect union of flavors. Mahalo for highlighting the service excellence of Valentin at Valet, Derek at our Pool Bar and our reception team for suggesting other alternatives for you to extend your stay till it was time to head to the airport. Please come back and visit us soon! We look forward to welcoming you back to our MODERN paradise.

Mahalo,

Rory Cosma
Guest Experience Manager
THE MODERN HONOLULU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Really solid boutique hotel located between the heart of Waikiki and the Ala Moana mall. Making this my home for 1-2 months until I decide which ridiculously over priced and dilapidated home I'm going to over pay for here in Honolulu. The hotel does have a nice distinctive modern minimalist feel which is very tastefully done. The service is outstanding. I never have to wait long for the valet and everyone at the front desk if pleasant. It's not located directly on the beach, but it's a short walk away. A big bonus in my book is that there are very few children here and they have an adult only pool. BUT during one of my days at the regular pool I did notice a lady dipping her baby with a freaking diaper into the pool. Was really disgusting, I had to go back to my room to recover. I'm surprised none of the staff stopped her. This place probably deserves 5 stars, but the size of my room is a bit small(about 400sq ft), and I just can't get the picture of the diaper in the pool out of my mind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s3jwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMHmgr, Rory C, Guest Experience Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Aloha s3jwang,

Thank you very much for making THE MODERN HONOLULU your home, while looking for permanent residency in Honolulu. We’re thrilled that you’re here and would like to extend much gratitude for your review! I especially loved your kind words to our exceptional guest reception (front desk) and arrival experience (bell desk/valet) teams. Mahalo for also highlighting our uncommon Sunset Pool which is the perfect place to spend an afternoon soaking in the sun while sipping on any one of our signature cocktails. You’re happiness is vital to our success and I couldn’t be more concerned with your experience at our Sunrise Pool. Please email me at rory.cosma@themodernhonolulu.com. I would love to hear your feedback and concerns as we definitely see this as a helpful opportunity to improve our services for you and other valued guests in the future. Mahalo again for review! I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Warmest Aloha,

Rory Cosma
Guest Experience Manager
THE MODERN HONOLULU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Modern is just far enough not be overwhelmed with masses of tourists yet just close enough to have beach front access & a short walk to the most amazing outside mall, Ala Moana Shopping Centre. The pool is everything you see on the website - deck chairs and day beds surround a small yet inviting pool and we enjoyed cocktails and snacks here almost daily. Service is fabulous, everyone is always smiling, friendly and wishing to make your stay a satisfying one. Cannot speak more highly of this hotel. Thank you for a great stay & we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed for 10 days at the Modern Hotel at the end of June and it was just amazing.

We had an ocean view room which was just great as we had a view of the pools at the hotel, the lagoon at the Hilton Village then onto the ocean. On Friday night they have a fireworks display from the beach, which we were able to see from either our room or from the pool deck.

The staff at the hotel were just so wonderful I could not begin to tell you how they went beyond all expectations. If there was a issue they were very open to hear what it was and then get it sorted with a smile and apology. The knowledge of the island and local restaurants is just fantastic. Also the little things they did before I arrived was incredible.

The food was excellent as well. They had local artists singing both around the pool and in the Study who were really good.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Honolulu. They are situated a 5 minute walk to the Ala Monana shopping mall and a 10 - 15 minute walk or 3 minute bus ride into Waikiki shops.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a Ocean View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orangerinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I travel to Oahu every 4-6 weeks or so for work and have stayed in many properties over the past 3 years. That being said, I discovered the Modern about 2 years ago and have not strayed ever since. The property is gorgeous, the staff wonderful and the location ("off the strip") allows for quite the relaxing environment regardless of if you're there for work or for play. The Study bar has some of the best staff on the island, the valets are beyond helpful and fantastic not to mention all of the other staff throughout the hotel that will make your experience special.

Room Tip: Partial Ocean View is quite delightful...especially if you get to face pool-side for great people wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#3 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,732 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Property: The Modern Honolulu
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE MODERN HONOLULU introduces cosmopolitan chic for leisure and business pursuits in Hawaii. We deftly combine sexy and sophisticated in everything we do. Every element is original; authentic or custom-designed to enhance your experience. Gourmet pleasures, vibrant nightlife, intimate pool settings, exhilarating spa treatments and all that Oahu has to offer - luxury shopping, beaches, nature - blend to create a feeling of progressive luxury, as refined as it is relaxed. We invite you to make the most of every moment with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing