We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YES, it's modern :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“YES, it's modern :)”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

i've only stayed in 3 different Honolulu hotels, so i rank this one 2nd on my list. 1. Outrigger on the Beach, 2. The Modern Honolulu 3. Aston Waikiki on the Beach (don't stay here)

anyway, i'll help out the people deciding between the modern and aston waikiki on the beach. there's no comparison. the modern wins it hands down. rooms cleaner, beds nicer, bathroom nicer, free in room internet (when i stayed at aston 2yrs ago, it was only in the lobby), it's walking distance to Ala Moana. (I would stay at the outrigger for half of your honolulu stay if u want to hang out more at waikiki.) Free coffee in the morning is super hot, there's no included breakfast, but that's ok. mcD is across the road :)

only thing that annoyed me was how bright the room is in the morning....even with all blinds closed etc. but that's minor. just use an eye mask :p

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwioptom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,877
    811
    216
    73
    36
See reviews for
669
1,875
205
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
horsham victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Modern won't disappoint ,
the staff are helpful friendly and the modern has exceptionally high standards for service the meals were really enjoyable, the design of the property was well thought out to make your stay relaxed, Library Bar was nice to sit and enjoy local talent at night
I would book this property again and again

Room Tip: ocean view was great to sit on the balcony and have a quite drink
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeanne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We just returned from our family vacation to Hawaii. We spent the first three nights in Honolulu at the Modern Honolulu. It was fabulous! It is right at the end of Waikiki Beach so you miss the crowds, but not the beauty. The service was great and the place was perfect for me and my husband and two adult children. Our favorite part was breakfast by the pool every morning. It was so peaceful and serene. The staff was very attentive to our needs and the food was incredible. We would easily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbb681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMHmgr, Rory C, Guest Experience Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Aloha Herbb681,

We are absolutely thrilled that you and your family had a great stay! Thank you for mentioning the service excellence of our team members. They are extremely valuable to our success and I couldn’t be more proud that they were able to leave a lasting positive impression on the first leg of your Hawaiian vacation. I hope this letter finds you safely back in Texas eager to come back for another visit! Mahalo again for your review. Please come back and visit us soon!

Warmest Aloha,

Rory Cosma
Guest Experience Manager
THE MODERN HONOLULU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hands down the best hotel I ever stayed at! Incredible staff. From the Moment of our arrival, we were pampered in every way. Delicious morning coffee, impeccable service poolside, Spa staff & room staff were all A+! I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flcharmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Amazing hotel, awesome design, very clean, lovely staff.
Both pools are beautiful, the Library Bar is lovely, nice food, delicious cocktails, everything was truly amazing. Well worth the walk to the main part of Waikiki, the modern design is fantastic and the service was fabulous, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. So far I would say it is the best hotel I've stayed at in the world.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We greatly appreciated All of the Staff at The Modern Honolulu. Everyone was pleasant, very helpful, and they upgraded our room when they found out it was our anniversary. Every detail was covered, from assisting us with our baby stroller to scheduling our helicopter ride over Oahu to the emails we received from Ryan before we even arrived. We stayed eight wonderful days and Highly Recommend this hotel for anyone traveling. We had a great view of both the ocean and the city. Just hanging out on the balcony was a joy. Service at the Modern Honolulu truly is Outstanding!

Room Tip: Rooms with a partial ocean view give you the best of both the ocean and the city. We highly recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in a double double city view room on 16th floor. Very nice hotel, great service from staff. Rooms are nicely appointed, comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. Our room was supposed to have an iPad, it was missing, but we didn't both asking for one. The wifi was slow and dropped out frequently. This is going to be upgraded apparently. Pools were vey nice, but service in happy hour was slow. Staff were quick to bring ice when requested and supplied extra glasses on request. The curtains did not block out all the light, so eye masks are needed to sleep in late. Overall, I'd definitely stay at the modern again.

Room Tip: Higher floors for city view rooms will have less traffic noise
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank wogface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Property: The Modern Honolulu
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing