We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection Sought and Achieved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfection Sought and Achieved”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

June 4 -11 2013 - 7 day luxury
We swapped our booking from the Sheraton which is massive in a busy area towards Diamond Head for this smaller one at slightly higher cost .But every dollar spent was more than justified. The Management want this hotel to be perfect in every respect and we can not fault it. The reception, concierge who books trips (must is the round island tour but our guide spoke far too fast, room house maids, the servers presenting breakfast near the pool, the bell boys who call you a taxi and help with luggage, in fact everyone performed to perfection.

We were on the 8th floor with two beds .In the two bedded rooms you do not get a balcony but if you just have one king size in your room then you do get a balcony. The view over the marina and out to the lagoon and sea was great. Aircon was quiet, superb bathroom and shower. Not keen on TV chanels and masses of adverts.

We did not try Morimotos restaurant (President Obama did eat here) as we found we did not need much to eat in the high temperatures. It was a bit cloudy at times so we did not get the superb sunsets. But Friday night fireworks were spectacular lasting 4 minutes.

This hotel is a joy with the moving bookcase revealing at 6.00 p.m. a wonderful cocktail lounge and a wonderful mixer lady.

We did not use the Spa or fitness center but it looked very good.

We never even thought that we should ever be able in our lifetimes to enjoy such luxury.
It was a total real joy and pleasure to be looked after so well and in such a superb Island and People.

Thank you so much Hotel Modern.

Room Tip: 8th floor is high enough but some suggest 16th. Ask for Ocean View. Note above for balcony or not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rippo4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,753
    770
    208
    70
    34
See reviews for
628
1,798
194
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at The Modern during the first week of our honeymoon. Due to all the positive reviews our expectations were high. Our stay however exceeded all these expectations. The service was impeccable and the staff goes beyond their means to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The room was very bright and clean. We booked a standard room but were upgraded to a partial ocean view. The traffic can be loud but that didn't effect our stay in a negative way. Waikiki beach and all the restaurants and bars are within walking distance. The Modern is a more quiet and relaxt hotel compared to all the big, crowded and buisy resorts on Waikiki. Wining and dining at the hotel however is quit expensive. You can find a small local restaurant across the street of the hotel.
The hotels restaurant, Morimoto, is well known. To us it was quit loud and expensive and the sushi was not worth the price. If you like to enjoy some fine dining than the Sicilian restaurant Taormina is an excellent choice compared to all the more fast food like restaurants in the area. If we should ever return to Oahu The Modern will definitely be our first choice to go to.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor to avoid the traffic noise if you have a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We are currently styling here. We have been here for 7 nights and on our second last night. I think my wife summed it up, the place is clean, modern and for the beautiful people. I think the target market is the young couples without kids. If you have kids I think the Hilton next door would cater for a better family holiday. The adults only pool was really cool, and I think it really makes the place. The other pool is for the beautiful people and people who like to be seen. We like our privacy a bit more and the adult pool fits this nicely. The adult only pool is only a foot (300 mm) deep so it is a great place to laze in the water with beer in hand. During the day not many people use it, and those that do are there for the same reason, privacy and space.. We spent a lot of time over at the lagoon next to the Hilton. It is really nice place to spend a few hours on the beach and water. Again we could find our own little spot with some privacy. The walk along the beach foot path was nice way to get to Waikiki and the restaurants/shopping. Yes it is a little far for Waikiki, but when on holidays who cares. The sunset, beach and ocean view make up for it.It is only $8 to get back by taxi. We were on the 11 floor and the view was good. The hotel itself is side on (for a better term) to the beach, so only the suites at the end have a direct view across the marina to the ocean. Overall. we would stay here again, it is not the best hotel we have every stayed at, but I think it is one of the better ones on Waikiki.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Barneyridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Nice hotel and great staff but I wouldn't stay here again! We stayed here twice on our recent honeymoon and both times they closed the pool for private parties. The first time it was the main pool- leaving the entire hotel to share a small wading pool that was only inches deep! Pretty unacceptable for a hotel with no beach access. The second time at least they only closed the wading pool. The music from the private party was so loud though we were forced to sit inside while dining at morimoto. Nice hotel, but honestly felt second class compared to their private parties. With no beach access, you simply cannot close your pools to your guests!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyDri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

we have travelled all over, & this truly has been the best experience we have ever had. The Hotel was fantastic, we stayed in an ocean view room , the views we terrific we had ocean views & views of the pool area & the city. The hotel is the cleanest we have ever stayed in & the service we had from all the staff was Amazing. Pool was gorgeous & staff there also Amazing , A big thank you to Justin & Alex in the pool area. Both just couldn`t do enough for us . Everyday they would set us up with 2 beach towels & made sure we were happy with everything. A cold iced water was the very next thing that arrived. Always happy & smiling. I just can`t express how happy we are to have made the choice to stay at The Modern Honolulu. Excellent. we will be back next year. Kathy & Ray Buckley from Sydney NSW.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I live on the next island over. My wife and I go here often for weekend getaways. Mostly because we love the room service and the food, as well as Morimoto. Also the pool has a nice vibe, usually sans screaming children. I went three weeks ago with friends, and it was also excellent.

Also Kathrin at the front desk is always really helpful and kind.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patimaracuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My daughter and I received nothing less than Excellent Service from all who work at The Modern Honolulu. All our questions were answered and suggestions of sites to visit were greatly appreciated. Had a great time. I strongly recommend The Modern Honolulu.

Room Tip: I recommend ocean view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,241 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Property: The Modern Honolulu
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing