We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best business traveler hotel in Honolulu!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best business traveler hotel in Honolulu!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

As a business traveler, I want to stay at a hotel that is not overridden with tourists and children. The Modern is just the right place, as it is quiet, comfortable and luxurious. The rooms are contemporary, while maintaining the charm of old Hawaii. The staff is the best you can find, from the valet to the front desk to the concierge service. And Morimoto's, which is right in the hotel, was an incredible dining experience, and an impressive place to entertain clients! The location is perfect, as it is at the northwestern end of Waikiki Beach, and an easy walk to restaurants and a quick hop to the financial district. I will look forward to many return visits to The Modern Honolulu, as it made my business trip a luxurious indulgence that far exceeded my expectations. I can't wait to return to this beautiful hotel!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a much better view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMHmgr, Rory C, Guest Experience Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Aloha Pamela M,

Our hotel is certainly convenient to downtown Honolulu! Thank you so much for your excellent review on our sleek hotel. I’m pleased that you had a great time and will certainly stay with us in the future. I loved how you were descriptive in the location of our hotel. Thank you for staying with us! We are definitely looking forward to welcoming you back to MODERN paradise.

Aloha,

Rory Cosma
Guest Experience Manager
THE MODERN HONOLULU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,771
    776
    209
    70
    34
See reviews for
633
1,808
194
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The Modern has an awesome pool area, which was somewhat quiet and restful during the day. Close to Waikiki beach but out of the fray of central Waikiki. The nightclub is wild and loud at night, so be ready for that... Service is great all around!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntkmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Absolutely loved my stay at The Modern Honolulu. Location was perfect for me as it was a within walking distance to Ala Moana shopping centre and waikiki beach. Amazing pool bar, restaurants and the staff were so attentive and so friendly. The rooms were huge and had everything you could possibly need. Im a travel agent and I would recommend this hotel to all my clients!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I loved staying at the Modern. A very hip and happening hotel with sophisticated and elegant designs. The hotel has study behind it a bar in the evening which i think is just innovation at its best. Loved the reception area and the staffs were all so very helpful in guiding us to great restaurants, shopping and reserving our cab with confirmation in the room within short time. The food was yummy and being a vegetarian had many options to choose from. Restaurant at Modern was superb overlooking beautiful ocean, marina and breathtaking views. I felt like i was at home since I was so well looked after by the staff. The Addiction club at the Modern is also very convenient and shopping there as well. Its a one stop shop, enjoyment for anyone of any age. Whole package. Must return and must highly recommended to friends.

Room Tip: I was on the 12th Floor and it was a city & partial ocean view from my room. Woke up overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kavita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

fantastic hotel.rooms to die for. spectacular views.young and vibrant staff.excellent position.pool area beautifully appointed,the service by the pool was nothing short of exceptional.close to shopping and the wakiki strip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexlMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is located at the northwestern end of Waikiki Beach, in a quieter part of Waikiki, yet just a short walk from all the shops and restaurants. The rooms are nicely appointed and the staff friendly and courteous. The hotel offers comfortable lounging areas in the lanai and around the pool, good bar snacks and relaxing happy hour entertainment. The service everywhere in the hotel was impeccable. The beach and lagoon are a short walk down a long elevated ramp. The hotel features a full spa and offers live entertainment in the night club adjacent to the lobby, which attracted many elegantly dressed young adults on the weekend. It also offers free coffee in the lobby in the morning for those who want to grab a cup to go and get on with their day or just lounge around the pool. The staff were very attentive and went out of their way to make us feel like valued guests.
Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Loved staying at The Modern. Room was large, sunny and beds comfortable. Loved being only a 7-10 minute walk to the Alo Moana Shopping Centre and 20 minute walk to Lewers Street, Waikiki. Best of all the staff who were so friendly and attentive - whether it was at the Sunrise or Sunset Pool, the Pool Bar or Morimoto. Highly recommend the restaurant for dinner - and thought the breakfast prices were good value too. And don't forget to have a drink at The Study, when at 6pm each night the book case rolls away to reveal the bar behind. Definitely will be back and would never stay anywhere else in Honolulu!

Room Tip: Corner suite large and sunny with great views. Loved it that I could open the windows for fresh air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaRMaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,253 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Property: The Modern Honolulu
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing