We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying to understand the hype...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I'm trying to understand the hype with this hotel. It's beautiful, clean, neat, the staff is friendly but the rates seem insane for what you get...which is very little.

I like good staff but at this point I think every hotel - even the Motel 6 - should appreciate the importance of good staff. I enjoyed the rooms but they were cookie cutter, contemporary rooms in a cookie cutter hotel. The pool area was nice but again, not extraordinary. For all the hype surrounding the opening of this hotel a short time ago I would have thought there would be more to it. What I received is any hotel, on any corner or other prime location in Miami... I was not impressed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelloGorJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMHmgr, Rory C, Guest Experience Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Aloha HelloGorJess,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. I’d like to extend sincere apologies for not being able to exceed your expectations during your stay. It is our hope that our guest rooms, unique pool experience and sleek hotel ambiance allow our guests to find something that appeals to their desire for tranquility and romantic time as well as having fun with friends. Unfortunately, we did not meet this standard during your stay, but will certainly utilize your review as an excellent learning tool to improve.

Mahalo, (thank you)

Rory Cosma
Guest Experience Manager
The MODERN HONOLULU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,239 - 3,245 of 4,165 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon last year and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. The room was fantastic, comfortable bed, very clean and plenty of room. We had a partial view of the ocean which was actually quite good, looking out over the swimming pool of the hotel next door.
The food was very tasty and the staff were extremely helpful. We had some issues with a couple of bookings and the concierge and other staff were fantastic in helping us get them sorted out.
Also, the restaurant downstairs, while very pricey, has fantastic sushi and sashimi.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scylen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Although not located in down down honolulu (but walking distance, 10 mins), this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed. The staffs were extremely friendly, attentive and helpful. Rooms were nice and Modern :) Amenities were well maintained. Overall, great experience!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMHmgr, Rory C, Guest Experience Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Aloha Danny B,

Mahalo for your review on our sleek boutique hotel. It’s great to read that you had an awesome stay. I’m pleased you enjoyed our friendly team members, nice rooms and great amenities. It certainly has been a pleasure assisting you during your vacation. Thank you again for your wonderful review!! We look forward to welcoming you back to MODERN paradise.

A hui hou, (until we meet again)

Rory Cosma
Guest Experience Manager
The MODERN HONOLULU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My Husband and I (from Adelaide, Australia), stayed at The Modern for our honeymoon. It was our first stop and was absolutley fantastic. When we were searching for accommodation prior to our trip we kept coming back to The Modern. We stayed in a partial ocean view room with a balcony, upgraded from a city view room. The room was very clean, contemporary and lovely. Not anything over the top but very beautiful. The staff were absolutley excellent. Very friendly. Have nothing negative to report about our stay at The Modern. Both pool areas are stunning and relaxing. The pool with the undergound sound system is great. Although overlooking the harbour... the beach is only a 2 minute walk. A nice walk too. The gym is great also. Very clean and a variety of machines to use.

As we were on our honeymoon, our first or second night we received 2 beautiful notes, from concierge and the pool girl, congratulating us and some champaigne and dessert cookies. Was so lovely.

The concierge were so easy. Obviously not knowing what transport to take and what to do every day, they were able to tell us the best and most efficient way to get to places and the cheapest including snorkelling, pearl harbour, the outlet shops, etc. We called up most mornings and they would book everything.

Were told also during our stay that many celebrities stay there. That was exciting news :)

Had a fantastic time at The Modern and would recommend it to all. Good luck with your planning :)

Ash & Brad

Room Tip: We stayed at The Modern twice during our travels. Our first stay was on level 17 (I think top level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

First, the good stuff. The location is super - close to the beach, Ala Moana Center, and all kinds of transportation. The desk staff and concierges were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean, with excellent beds and furnishings. Morimoto's restaurant is amazing. Both pools are lovely and relaxing. And the whole place has a sharp sense of style to it, with some very classy touches.

Only a couple of negatives to mention, but they might strongly affect someone's stay. The first is the noise from inside the building. The hotel nightclub, "Addiction", runs from 10:30PM-3AM from Thursday to Saturday. We stayed on the 4th floor, and the bass from the nightclub bled up into the room to the point where we needed earplugs to sleep. Not only that, on the Wednesday night we were there, the hotel rented a conference room to a party of some kind that, again, resulted in bass pounding into the early hours. We asked for a change of room, but unfortunately, no comparable ones were available, and even the ones available were not much higher. Earplugs did the trick, however. Secondly, we found the service at the "Passageway" and "Grove" dining areas, and the pools, to be a mixed bag. We forgave the service at the pools, as it is a more relaxed atmosphere, but we almost never got served in the Passageway and Grove unless we physically approached a server and gave them an order. Finally, the turndown service was a little inconsistent, with turndowns only happening once or twice over the course of our stay.

We got a discounted flight\room package, and I think it was good value for the price we paid. And really, despite the issues mentioned, our overall experience was still positive.

Room Tip: Avoid lower rooms because of bass from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Amazing hotel with beautiful views from our ocean view room
The pools are also very nice and the food and service at the lower pool was fantastic!
The food and drinks are expensive and can add up quickly.
The service at the upper pool was not great.

Room Tip: get a ocean view room ...view are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMHmgr, Rory C, Guest Experience Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Aloha millers_11,

Thank you for your review on The MODERN HONOLULU. We’re happy that you had a wonderful stay. I did want to apologize for the service you received at the Sunset Bar. Thank you so much for bringing your experience to my attention. It’s truly thru your feedback that we’re able to see them as celebrations for our success or windows of opportunity for growth. Your review will certainly serve as an excellent training tool for us to use to better serve you and other valued guests in the future. Mahalo again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to MODERN paradise. Until we meet again.

Mahalo, (Thank you)

Rory Cosma
Guest Experience Manager
The MODERN HONOLULU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everything was great. Loved dining at Morimoto's. It was the perfect business stay. The staff was great and the accommodations were terrific. Loved my corner suite with view of the Marina. Loved the pool and the outdoor bar.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryjack55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
320 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $217 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing