We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our time at the Modern very swanky hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved our time at the Modern very swanky hotel”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The staff were great, the location worked well for me, the facilities were very clean and well maintained, our room was ver comfortable - we were on the 15th floor with a partial sea view. I loved walking down to the beach - which was very close by!!

Room Tip: Higher floors closer to the ocean are less noisy. Restaurants are very exclusive and posh - expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thehina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,849
    798
    213
    71
    36
See reviews for
656
1,857
202
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Awesome, friendly and helpful staff great coconut mojitos. Zazu was the bartender she helped creat the Irish mojito. Please stay here and check them out they made it a blast.


Very amazing group lets keep the good times rolling

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ePubcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Loved the modern - its really about time a nice new hotel came to Waikiki. The rooms are beautiful and crisp with lovely linen etc. The staff were all amazing - any interactions with them was great - super helpful. Location is actually very good - easy 10 minute walk to Ala Moana - and a few minutes walk down to the beach. Definitely my new favourite in Waikiki. I'll be back

Room Tip: GO for ocean view - lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at the modern recently And found it to be clean, fresh and "nice". It is not as fancy as the local resorts we saw, having a small pool only. The adults only pool is an ankle deep pool. Service was good. This hotel does not have an activities desk with pamphlets as other hotels, and bus pickups are at the hotels on either side which do have activity desks. It is a good 15 minute walk to Waikkiki but only 2 blocks away from ala moana shopping centre. We experienced loud protests twice in 1 week by disgruntled Modern workers, which was a little unsettling.

The addiction nightclub was the place to be for dancing. Free water and free wifi are a plus. And it doesn't have the busy feel of the other hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iluvtravel872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Jan 2013 for only 2 nights and wished we had booked a longer stay. We were looking for somewhere to stay for our last 2 nights of a 14 night stay in Oahu and this turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip.
As soon as we pulled up our car out front we were treated to great service. This continued for our stay except for one time on our last afternoon at the pool where we were ignored by the pool bar staff. Not sure if this because they knew we had already checked out. It did put a damper on the experience....

The room we had was partial ocean view and it had a nice sized balcony with a great view of the ocean and marina. I enjoyed sitting out there at night to see the city and stars having a glass of wine before dinner. The bed was very comfortable.

Dinner at Morimoto's restaurant in the hotel was simply amazing! One of the best culinary experiences of my life and I am a foodie. We also enjoyed breakfast on the patio by the pool one morning and lunch poolside.

There are 2 pools although one is really just an ankle deep wading pool. I really enjoyed that the one pool was heated and had salt water. This made a huge difference as the other hotel we stayed at (Outrigger Reef on the Beach) was not heated and I could hardly stand to swim in it. The 2nd pool on the upper level is nice because it has a sandy area around it which is like being on the beach and has really nice comfortable loungers.
The clientel seemed to be on the younger side and reminded me of a South Beach crowd. There were a few families with young kids but it was mostly couples in their twenties and early thirties.

I also enjoyed the small gym which had nice new machines. I didn't get any spa treatments but used the facilities to shower on the last day after check out. I thought it was nice that they offered this facility for those with a late flight as not all hotels do this.

Would I go back? Definitely yes! It is a new go-to place for us for short stays in Oahu. The only downside was the distance from the main strip and Waikiki beach. It was about a 30 min walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Modern Honolulu was the nicest hotel I've ever stayed at. Being completely unfamiliar with Honolulu, I had no idea what to expect regarding the location, being slightly outside of the main strip, but I couldn't have been more thrilled!
The service was always exceptional. The quality of the room and cleanliness was always consistent and to a really high standard. And the hotel itself is beautiful and well, modern... I loved the Sunrise Pool Bar, especially the gorgeous sunbeds. And sunset over the mariner was stunning and a highlight of the day!
If you haven't planned a thing for your holiday, just see the concierges, they were amazing! I can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: Be aware that when it says 'Ocean View', it's not a full ocean view. It just means that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 475janeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here in February for two weeks. Everything was perfect. We ate at the famed Morimoto restaurant of the hotel and it was just as amazing as we would expect.I also especially liked the very light scent that was prevalent throughout the hotel and found a room spray of a similar fragrance at pier one imports to remind us of our trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,520 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Property: The Modern Honolulu
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing