We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely comfortable rooms and outstanding service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Extremely comfortable rooms and outstanding service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have stayed twice recently at the Modern Honolulu. The rooms are spacious, nicely furnished and comfortable. The service is outstanding. The proximity to activities makes it convenient.

The wheelchair access is very good in room and around the hitel and despite the lift to the driveway the bell staff make themselves available in seconds to help with the lift.

Because of the way the building was built, the view of the ocean is usually obstructed on one side by skyscrapers so city view rooms have nearly the same view as ocean view (so keep your cash and go out to the pool).

In room dining is absolutely delish, prompt & courteous.

Overall the Modern Honolulu is top notch.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleZooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,359
    634
    176
    56
    32
See reviews for
508
1,524
164
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,057)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

What a pleasure to stay here. Our visit was a mix of business and pleasure. We arrived to the hotel early (check-in was at 3, we arrived at 1pm). But that did not stop Katherin at the front desk from greeting us warmly. As a matter of fact, my husband requested a room upgrade. Katherin showed us 3 rooms to choose from. Taking her time, telling us a bit about the island before we selected a room with the view my husband liked best. It was as if we were the only guests there. She also made 3 terrific dinner suggestions which we enjoyed very, very much. Imagine our delight, when a little later that afternoon, a champagne cocktail was delivered to our room! My husband and I were joking around that we did not have much of a honeymoon when we married and we decided that this would be our honeymoon 15 years later! Katherin sent us a cocktail in celebration of our delayed honeymoon! What a way to start our stay! Everyday was like that. The employees go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and enjoy paradise! I wish all our travels could be as enjoyable as this. The rooms are great, the place is clean, clean, clean. We would definitely return here for service alone! But the views and room size are definitely a plus! Also Morimoto's!! Delicious. We ate there twice!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhs205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We "Outer Island" residents have reasons to come to Oahu (medical services, shopping, big name entertainment, etc.), and we're always looking for a reasonably priced, well-located hotel for our stay. For many of us, it used to be the no frills Ala Moana, but that property has doubled its prices in recent years. With occupancy rates in Honolulu very high at the moment, there are few bargains to be found. That said, I very much enjoyed a one night stay at the Modern, located in front of the Waikiki yacht harbor, next to the Illikai and across the street from the Charthouse restaurant and the Prince Hotel (also excellent, but pricier.)
The Modern is a new name for an updated hotel, with an attentive and friendly staff. It appears to have been completely renovated, based on the new carpets, furnishings, paint and ultra clean and efficient room I was given. There was an enormous television, iPhone/iPod music docking station and a usable lanai. My city view room was quieter than I expected. Honolulu hotel rooms can be noisy from street traffic, but The Modern is far enough from Ala Moana blvd to have reduced noise.
The pool area was nice, with good but very pricey food service. Breakfast for one was $36 (pancakes and a Mimosa) and an evening Mai-tai was $12.50. Morimoto's restaurant is at hand for an upscale dining experience.
The Modern isn't one of the Waikiki hotels where you tumble out of the hotel directly onto the sand, you are fronting the yacht harbor, but beach access isn't that far.
WiFi is free as is valet car service, which can run $32 per day at hotels like the Waikiki Beach Marriott.
A price under $250 (plus taxes), the friendly staff, free and quick valet parking, easy walking to good restaurants and beaches and proximity to Ala Moana shopping center means I will come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KonaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best hotel we've ever been to. Perfect located, very stylish, super clean and individual. Just perfect in value for money ratio. Let's hope it stays that way.

Furthermore the staff is veryvery friendly. One downside: Breakfast is very good but comparing to the price quite small. We can 100% recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haiku_maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Wowsers! What a great hotel! It was just what we were looking for - posh, lush and hip. Honestly, we had an awesome time. The pool area is very cool. All ages hanging out and relaxing - staff can't do enough for you! For the price, I feel we got our monies worth. We stayed on the 14th floor. Our balcony view was primo, I recommend putting some pillows from the couch on the oversize chairs on the balcony - they are very deep. Location was wonderful, we walked everywhere.
The not thing they can improve on is the shower head and water pressure - they hit the mark on everything else!
Not only will we be back, we plan on it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karavalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at The Modern for our Honeymoon and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff at the pool, the front desk, and the concierge were all very, very helpful. We spent a lot of time just hanging out by the pool, and that alone made it worth the stay. We also ate a number of meals poolside and the food was quite good, a few of the breakfast items were exceptional. The location of the hotel is good too - far enough off the main Waikiki strip so it's less noisy, but close enough that most of the good restaurants and shops are just a short walk away. Overall we had a great experience.

However, there was a union rally on one of the last days we were there, and because of this we became aware of mistreatment of the staff by the hotel's current ownership group. Hospitality workers in Hawaii are unionized, and the staff at The Modern has been working without a contract for the last couple of years. There were related complaints about unfair dismissals, cutback benefits, pay freezes, etc. Because the staff was so pleasant to deal with, this did not directly affect our stay (other than not being able to use the pool for about a half hour). However, it would prevent us from booking with The Modern again unless the ownership gets these problems with their staff sorted out. These people are the most important part of the hotel experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harps S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in the Modern Honolulu.
The staff was very friendly in welcoming us/setting us up with a room.

The room we had was clean, bright and spacious.
The swimming pool was great, so were the drinks at the poolside bar.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Honolulu.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JochenDelabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#3 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Property: The Modern Honolulu
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE MODERN HONOLULU introduces cosmopolitan chic for leisure and business pursuits in Hawaii. We deftly combine sexy and sophisticated in everything we do. Every element is original; authentic or custom-designed to enhance your experience. Gourmet pleasures, vibrant nightlife, intimate pool settings, exhilarating spa treatments and all that Oahu has to offer - luxury shopping, beaches, nature - blend to create a feeling of progressive luxury, as refined as it is relaxed. We invite you to make the most of every moment with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing