We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Modern Honolulu
Nearby Hotels
$606
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$686
$589
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$399
$383
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$500
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$249
$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$749
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$550
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$519
$449
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$754
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,300)
Filter reviews
4,300 results
Traveler rating
3,072
883
226
78
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,072
883
226
78
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe studymorimoto restaurantsunrise pooliron chefday bedpool areawaikiki beachala moana shoppingour honeymoonadult poolamazing hotelmain poolmin walkpool staffturn down servicepartial ocean viewthe main strip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,473 - 3,478 of 4,300 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

What a splendid place to be at the end of three grinding days of work. "Turn down" includes a bucket of ice. Such a nice little treat. The toiletries are very mildly scented but feel rich and luxurious. The towels and bath mat have spoiled me for life - super thick and plush. The gym was large with newer equipment, very clean and adequately lighted. The pool is beautiful and one of my regrets was not actually getting in.

My other regret was missing Morimoto's which has an excellent reputation. Make a reservation if you want to eat early. Since work kept us cranking until late at night I wound up instead getting a glass of wine and a nosh at The Study. The mini-burgers were insanely good! The tempura was good, but not fabulous. Didn't try the cocktails but might stop by some other visit to Oahu.

Mattress and linens all high end and well put together. There was ample service, all very helpful and willing to do whatever it takes to make you comfortable. The hotel has a young vibe, most of the service is in their early twenties but very responsible. Make sure to treat yourself to a drink and some fish tacos at the poolside bar if you have time.

Also this is in a terrific location, just a five minute walk to Ala Moana mall, which is not only an enormous open air mall, but it's home to a couple of the best restaurants on the island.

Room Tip: If you want a bathtub, make sure to ask for one when you make reservations. Most of the rooms have large showers. I was on the 7th floor city-facing and the view was beautiful at night and there was no problem with traffic noise.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindleyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed here for a week and had a fantastic time. It a beautiful and all the staff were wonderful and eager to help. The concierge desk was amazing and gave us plenty of great tips from restaurants and bars to renting a car etc. I liked the location but its a 15 minute walk to the centre of Waikiki. The pool was great as was the bar and food. Our room was very nice and the pictures on the website gives a great representation of what it really looks like.
The only service was great once in your room... You can order things on your iPad and it comes right up! We got a coffee machine delivered to our room to use in the morning but there is also free coffee downstairs every morning as well.
The room was a bit noisy, as the window didn't seem to shut out much noise from street level below.
I used the gym a few times and it was small but well appointed and had fruit, water, towels and cold refresher towels as well. We had an amazing time and I would definitely stay there again if I went back to Hawaii!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydney5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and everything that we wanted from our trip was covered at this hotel. It is set back from the hustle and bustle of the Main Street of Waikiki yet only a short walk to the beach, shops, some restaurants and the bus stop. The two pools are great, the adults pool was much more intimate and always less crowded. The staff were fantastic and arranged for a birthday cake for my wife on our first day. Free coffee in the mornings between 6-9 is handy when you need to get up and go. The bar service by the pool is nice but prices are typically high in comparison to any restaurant nearby. However probably normal resort/poolside service prices. Concierge were fantastic help with all the site seeing and activities. Road noise is an issue but you do get used to it. Car parking $28 per night. Prices at our time of year were about $600+ per night. So if that's in the budget then this is a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Modern (obviously) and very friendly. The pool is nice and the (Hilton) beach is a short walk away.
The rooms are great- quiet, comfortable and boutique-like. The balconies are large enough for two people to sit and relax ... and enjoy the great water views.

The staff is warm, welcoming and helpful.

This is the coolest hotel in Waikiki (it's actually in the Marina are on Ala Moana but you can easily walk to the hustle and bustle).

I wouldn't stay any place else.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanview balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunsetPelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel itself is very nicely appointed, and being away from the main touristy part of Waikiki means it is a bit quieter and less crowded, which was nice. The Sunset pool bar area is magical at night and well worth a visit for a drink. We ate dinner at Morimoto's - which was divine - and it was awesome to relax by the pool afterwards and then retire to the stylish decor of our very comfortable room. The staff were uniformly excellent, very polite, obliging, and service-oriented. I would definitely stay there again and have already recommended it to some friends. A wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runnerrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews