We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Modern Honolulu
Nearby Hotels
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
$300
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$222
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$279
$209
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$405
$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,333)
Filter reviews
4,333 results
Traveler rating
3,093
888
229
80
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,093
888
229
80
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe studymorimoto restaurantsunrise pooliron chefday bedpool areawaikiki beachala moana shoppingour honeymoonadult poolamazing hotelmain poolmin walkpool staffturn down servicepartial ocean viewthe main strip
Filter
Updating list...
3,510 - 3,515 of 4,333 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Had a fantastic time here. The staff were all absolutely fantastic and easy going. I was worried it was going to be too stuffy and "hip." They upgraded our room without us even asking and made sure we were very well looked after. The pools are both gorgeous and entertaining while still being a great place to relax. The room we had was very clean and well maintained. They even have the little clothes line in the shower. Something I miss from most hotels. Great for drying bathing suits. Will definitely be going back here if I can make it back to Honolulu.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great hotel with excelent service you will not be dissapointed and if you were the staff would take great care of you!! Lots of cool features 1 of the top 5 best restaurants in all of hawaii Morimotos is a must!! Its a life changing experience. And the night club was cool too no waiting in lines if your a hotel guest which was awesome!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiiigBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

after checking out of another hotel that was horrible and arriving at this one i felt like i was home and this was the hotel i was looking for with out knowing this is what i was looking for. it gave me everything that i needed with out knowing i needed it, from the friendly valet staff to the front desk and going to the room. stepping into the room and seeing that it looks like the room you see online. it was truly a modern hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel was very nice with modern decor, clean and comfortable. Our room was well positioned with a partial ocean view on the 15th floor. It was clean and spacious with a king bed (we were given an upgrade). The linen and furniture was modern and tasteful. This hotel is on the edge of the swimming beach of Waikiki and as such is not as crowded and noisy as the other hotels on the beach. This was also something we liked. The staff were very friendly, warm and helpful with a lot of energy....they looked like they loved working there! It is very close to the Ala Moana shopping centre about a 5 min walk. Have already recommended it to my friends and colleagues!

Room Tip: Higher floors better views
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 48SueA48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I booked the Modern after searching Honolulu for a chic, contemporary hotel..well, this was the only one! The others were all a little tired looking and outdated. At first i was worried that it was too far away from the main centre as it was our first time to Waikiki but was pleasantly surprised. We enjoyed walking home from shopping/restaurants through Fort De Russy park. There was even a 'pink' trolley that dropped us directly behind the hotel if we needed it. The Aloa Moana shopping mall is a short 5min walk and a $7 taxi ride back when loaded up with the shopping!!
Staff were professional, efficient and friendly, the concierge was excellent. Housekeeping were constantly replenishing fluffy white towels & amenities with a turndown service in the evening.

We arrived from Sydney at 8am exhausted from an overnight flight. We were offered an upgrade for an additional $200p/n to the Ocean Front One Bdrm Suite as our booked One Bdrm Ocean View was unavailable until early afternoon.. I originally booked with Expedia and received a great rate at the time under $250 p/n so the upgrade still seemed a reasonable deal. We had two balconies - one directly looking over the ocean and the other with a city view. Great room, only concern was the noise on Thu/Fri/Sat nights around 2-3am from the party goers below which I believe were from the nightclub that operates at the hotel. Lucky we had ear plugs!!

We enjoyed the pool and bar service of the Sunrise Bar. Plenty of loungers always available and the added bonus of escaping to the Sunset Bar (child free)when we needed some peace and quiet for reading/snoozing. Breakfast on the odd occasion was lovely although the only let down was the coffee - but saying that we struggled to find a decent coffee in Honolulu
We dined at the Hotel's Morimoto restaurant. Beautiful but quite expensive. Ordered room service once which was quick and quite delicious. However, we dined out most nights with the highlight being a visit to Alan Wong's Restaurant. Must do the 6 course tasting of the 'Classics" with wine pairings - very reasonably priced for fine dining
We loved our stay at the Modern and hope to return some day...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bloody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews