We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Hotel Room & Great Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing Hotel Room & Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights after Christmas. The location was a short, scenic walk to the beach and the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon. The room was surprisingly spacious and relaxing; and it was very clean and new. We weren't able to get a balcony but we could still open up the large sliding windows, so it was the same as if we had one. We had a partial ocean view even though we were closer to the road. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The drinks and food at the bar were great, recommend the margherita pizza. Absolutely no complaints about anything! Mahalo nui loa to the Modern!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,810
    785
    213
    71
    34
See reviews for
641
1,836
199
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here six nights and enjoyed it! For those who like it stylished and modern i can recomend this to everyone! As many hotels in Honolulu are old this one is very new and nice. Rooms where clean. I will stay here again next time i go to Honolulu.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nothing beats warm, welcoming and sincere hospitality...which is exactly what we got at the Modern Honolulu. Every single staff member went out of their way to make our stay as perfect as possible. And it was all done with the friendliest of smiles and perfect grace!
Service aside, the hotel itself was spectacular...all bleached wood and colourful accents. Our room was spacious and serene.
By far the best feature of the hotel was the pool terrace, with big soft white beds lining the water's edge and a gorgeous restaurant serving mouth-watering morsels, including poke ahi (traditional Hawaiian appetizer)
We also enjoyed the fabulous Morimoto restaurant for dinner, and were blown away by the quality of our meal.

Our holiday in Waikiki can only be described as restfully romantic.
Two enthusiatic thumbs up for effortless chic - Mahalo to the Modern Honolulu!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaJ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I usually like to stay in beach houses on the windward side when visiting Oahu, but if you must stay in Waikiki, the Modern is in my opinion the best hotel to stay at. Beautiful rooms, beautiful pool area/bar, and best of all, beautiful location (just enough distance from the huge crowds in Waikiki). It doesn't have the overly commercialized feel of the other hotels and the prices are much more reasonable. The decor is stylish but still grounded enough and delivers an open-air island feel that makes Hawaii so wonderful. The pool area is gorgeous during sunset, and the live performance is great too (and not cheesy). Just know that the hotel is by the harbor side of Waikiki, so the pool area is not on the beach. But honestly, waikiki beach is so over crowded that it's infinitely better to venture to beaches in Kailua, north shore, or even the lagoons in Ko'olina instead.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The Sunrise Pool is on the pool deck overlooking the Ala Wai yacht harbor. A clubby lounge filled area with a space mixed with all sorts of guests and a menu with numerous house specials including a turkey club on a good grainy bread. Accompanied by some good, hot spicy fries and a cold Long Board beer. A meal meant to be consumed beneath that blue, blue Hawaiian sky . A friendly, casual spot heretofore unknown---the word is out. C'mon Down--Aloha

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kolekei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

To be clear, we didnt stay at the Modern but enjoyed the pool-pool area as rentors at the adjacent Ilikai Towers.
The best thing this hotel has going for it are its amenities: the pool area, the restaurant (Morimoto), and the downstairs lounge (the Study).
While you cannot technically use the pool or the rent a chair during the day, you are welcome to sit and order some food/drinks by the poolside bar. This is especially enjoyable in the evenings - the whole deck are is so well decorated and even includes cut off wine bottle lights hanging from the trees. The food is good (especially by Hawaiian standards which are a far cry from the quality of food we tend to be accustomed to in Vancouver, Canada) and the drinks are fine although if you want the best cocktails on the strip you have to stop in at the Moana Surfrider. With few people in the pool, the staff was nice enough to let us swim both times we went for an evening drink/meal - they even provided us towels.
No question this is the nicest pool area in Waikiki - well worth an evening stroll to visit

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and 2 daughters spent 3 nights at The Modern. It is not modern on the outside however inside is a different story. It is a small boutique hotel that takes service very seriously, from the iced water, sorbet and peppermint iced towels served to you whilst relaxing by the pool to the friendly helpful staff at the front desk. The hotel is minimalist in decoration with natural finishes and amazingly comfortable beds. the views are amazing. If you want to get away from the big chain hotels, choose this hotel and you will not be disappointed. Make sure you have dinner at Morimoto which is on the first floor of The Modern.

Room Tip: Choose an Ocean View Room as high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat55PerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Property: The Modern Honolulu
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing