We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Modern Honolulu
Nearby Hotels
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$337
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
$300
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$222
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$279
$209
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$417
$380
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,333)
Filter reviews
4,333 results
Traveler rating
3,093
888
229
80
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,093
888
229
80
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe studymorimoto restaurantsunrise pooliron chefday bedpool areawaikiki beachala moana shoppingour honeymoonadult poolamazing hotelmain poolmin walkpool staffturn down servicepartial ocean viewthe main strip
Filter
Updating list...
3,537 - 3,542 of 4,333 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I usually like to stay in beach houses on the windward side when visiting Oahu, but if you must stay in Waikiki, the Modern is in my opinion the best hotel to stay at. Beautiful rooms, beautiful pool area/bar, and best of all, beautiful location (just enough distance from the huge crowds in Waikiki). It doesn't have the overly commercialized feel of the other hotels and the prices are much more reasonable. The decor is stylish but still grounded enough and delivers an open-air island feel that makes Hawaii so wonderful. The pool area is gorgeous during sunset, and the live performance is great too (and not cheesy). Just know that the hotel is by the harbor side of Waikiki, so the pool area is not on the beach. But honestly, waikiki beach is so over crowded that it's infinitely better to venture to beaches in Kailua, north shore, or even the lagoons in Ko'olina instead.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The Sunrise Pool is on the pool deck overlooking the Ala Wai yacht harbor. A clubby lounge filled area with a space mixed with all sorts of guests and a menu with numerous house specials including a turkey club on a good grainy bread. Accompanied by some good, hot spicy fries and a cold Long Board beer. A meal meant to be consumed beneath that blue, blue Hawaiian sky . A friendly, casual spot heretofore unknown---the word is out. C'mon Down--Aloha

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kolekei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

To be clear, we didnt stay at the Modern but enjoyed the pool-pool area as rentors at the adjacent Ilikai Towers.
The best thing this hotel has going for it are its amenities: the pool area, the restaurant (Morimoto), and the downstairs lounge (the Study).
While you cannot technically use the pool or the rent a chair during the day, you are welcome to sit and order some food/drinks by the poolside bar. This is especially enjoyable in the evenings - the whole deck are is so well decorated and even includes cut off wine bottle lights hanging from the trees. The food is good (especially by Hawaiian standards which are a far cry from the quality of food we tend to be accustomed to in Vancouver, Canada) and the drinks are fine although if you want the best cocktails on the strip you have to stop in at the Moana Surfrider. With few people in the pool, the staff was nice enough to let us swim both times we went for an evening drink/meal - they even provided us towels.
No question this is the nicest pool area in Waikiki - well worth an evening stroll to visit

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lorenzo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and 2 daughters spent 3 nights at The Modern. It is not modern on the outside however inside is a different story. It is a small boutique hotel that takes service very seriously, from the iced water, sorbet and peppermint iced towels served to you whilst relaxing by the pool to the friendly helpful staff at the front desk. The hotel is minimalist in decoration with natural finishes and amazingly comfortable beds. the views are amazing. If you want to get away from the big chain hotels, choose this hotel and you will not be disappointed. Make sure you have dinner at Morimoto which is on the first floor of The Modern.

Room Tip: Choose an Ocean View Room as high up as possible
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat55PerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The Modern at first glance is pretty cool. I love the simple decor, the outdoor spaces and
the design vocabulary of the property. A pretty re-do in a great location with damn nice views. The Staff here for the most part are really really terrific and they make up for quite a lot of the inadequacies.
Bar and Pool service is friendly and professional-visually the two pools are nice and I didn't feel like it was a scene from rich kids of Instagram even though it would make a perfect backdrop.
Surprisingly quite a few Families with wee children vacationed here and it didn't seem to matter who you were or what watch you were wearing to get superb service.
Back to the details-the Pools are nice visually but more water feature and dip pool style. It's great that adults have the 2nd floor 21+ "Pool" option if you don't want water wings on your neighbor. However the main Pool was pretty chill even with kids running about.
Bartenders (all) were great. Very friendly and worked tirelessly during our vacation. Same to be said for the pool servers who ran food and drinks throughout the day-these people were working hard and their shifts seemed pretty rough in terms of how often we saw the same faces.
Poolside snacks were decent and more enjoyable than the breakfast food. I would only recommend Morimotos for breakfast not the outside dining.
Location-some Guests would not like the fact it overlooks the Marina versus beach- but it's a short walk to the beach or lagoon and certainly above average views.
Noise-it's pretty noisy but due partially to the architecture and volume of concrete that made it seem like someone 6 floors down was on your patio.
Also, there is a bit of late afternoon through evening wanna be gangsters flying F-bombs, partying, ka kawwwing with screaming girls hanging out both at the Hotel and surrounding area.
Our room was a bit of a letdown for the following reasons-
Bathroom is small and the lav is tight. Shower was okay-simple but with a regular shower, hand shower, retractable clothesline and an oddly located towel bar. No tub. The space obviously restricted by the prior floor plan but still not utilized optimally.
Toiletry quality good, abundant fluffy towels, but curiously no place to hang towels other than the odd shower bar and one hook outside the toilet. This Hotel conscientiously replaces linens on request or when they have not been rehung by the Guest-but it's hard to be green without a place to rehang towels. Plus it's still the beach-so I'd expect a more thoughtful approach to
towels, wet bathing suits and gear.
Bed was very comfortable but had that cruel low sharp middle of the night ankle slasher wood platform.
I think the most noticeable problems at this Hotel was deferred maintenance, marginal Housekeeping and slow Room Service. My guess is short staffed but there was no love in keeping the finishes in decent let alone top condition. Carpet fresh is not a substitute for clean carpets and the Halls and Lobby reeked of something but under dim lighting it's hard to know.
Our shower had mildew, our slipcovered sofa was torn and stained, the carpets were dirty, fraying and had burn holes, the outside patio wall had black marks from smooshed
out cigarettes (we don't smoke so find this pretty disgusting), many of the drawers were broken and the veneer chipped off and a completely dead orchid greeted us on arrival. The surfaces are worn here --not just in our room but--throughout the hotel and even though white slick and modern is much more unforgiving when it comes to chips scuffs and scratches I expect better. I expect more for our sliding rate ($800.-$1100. per night) and Housekeeping was slow even when we had been gone all day.
Room Service also seemed paralyzed-again I'm guessing short staffed??
I'd love this Hotel to be better. It does have a lot going for it and most of the Employees we encountered took pride in their job. The Modern could be a star and total niche property if someone pulled those loose ends together. I hope they sort it out.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Challenger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews