We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location + Servicel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Torrance, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Location + Servicel”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The rooms are very large + well decorated.My only complaint is the wood trim around the foot of the bed . It caused me to bruise my ankle. The pool area is lovely,and has lots of comfortable seating.
There is free entertainment there most evenings. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Granny1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,850
    799
    213
    71
    36
See reviews for
656
1,858
202
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My biggest regret? Only being here one night. What a breath of fresh air! The property is beautiful, located on the quiet end of Waikiki, next to the Ala Wai Boat Harbor. There are no crowds and no chaos - instead, it's a lovely little oasis catering to adult travelers. The service is outstanding - employees remembered be every time I came in the front door and they bent over backwards when I needed anything. The rooms are beautiful and airy with a modern beach decor. The one downside is the futon bed (not my favorite), but otherwise, the Modern will be my business home in Waikiki from now on. I wouldn't recommend this property for children - it really does cater to adults. But there is a 21-and-over pool, so if you do have kids, they can play and have fun without mom and dad feeling guilty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadWearyWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

A lovely hotel, definitely modern. The Concierge was extremely helpful and the front of house staff efficient and friendly.
Only slight issue was the slight confusion with the pool/breakfast area staff about serving breakfast. They were friendly and helpful but there was definitely a lack of understanding about the " breakfast included" menu and getting everything to the table. We were on vacation and not in a hurry but it could have annoyed me if I was.
However I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvtocycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I had an amazing 6 night stay at this beautiful property. We had the privilege of meeting the management and their professional staff and were treated like royalty. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Higher Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiba-shi, Chiba, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and me chose this hotel to stay at because of its nice pictures but we did not read concerning reviews which was a mistake. From the very beginning I did not like the place, because the lobby is too cold and dark to feel comfortable. Room was not available but to be honest we did not care about this that much because we were gonna take a historical trip to the Pearl Harbor Memorial. Anyway we had been waiting about 15 minutes for the second concierge coming and helping us to plan our trip while the first one was busy with another guests. We got a partial ocean view room as we booked but the room does not look that clean and new as it was at the pictures. There was a big oily stain on the carpet. One more surprising thing was soundproof between room and bathroom which is none! Bed sheets are changed once in a two days which is very questionable for the 5 stars hotel. Moreover, during the four days of our stay room cleaning stuff did not put any cotton pads and buds for us. The hotel stuff we communicated with were not rude but indifferent and definitely not friendly. Only one female person working at the pool area was polite and nice that level as it must be. Frankly, I cannot understand why the guest have to pay extras for the parking or room service at the hotel they stay at but I am not familiar to the American service, maybe, it is the same all around the US. Unfortunately the most disappointing thing about this place we realized coming back home. The hotel has charged us for three overnight parkings while we did parking only once. We did not checked our bill attentively at the time of check out because we have never experienced anything like that. After leaving a negative review the hotel's manager has contacted me and offered to solve the problem and refund all three night parking fees included that one we actually did plus some extra. It was a nice gesture and I would like to express my thanks personally to Mr. Barger who helped in this case. I cannot say I have totally changed my mind about the Modern but fortunately the manager's great job could improve my whole impression about the hotel from terrible to average. I wish I could give an excellent rate to this hotel some day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently for 4 nights. Overall it was a good experience but we had a few things that kept it from being great.

First off and the biggest peeve was that the wi-fi is absolutely horrible and inconsistent. When we called to ask about the connection to see if it was down the response was that theirs was working fine.....Half the time we were not able to connect and when we did finally the connection was slow and timed out alot. This was using iPhones and iPads so not outdated equipment.

Secondly the staff at the front desk was not very helpful or friendly. We had booked our trip on Priceline which said for 1-King bed or 2-double beds. Confirm at check in. Well they gave us 2 double beds and when we went back to get the King, the girl at the desk made us feel like it was our fault because we booked on Priceline. On top of that she made it as it was a big favor that she found us a King room which we appreciated since we thought it was busy. Then we find out from another staff member that the hotel was only 40% occupany at the time......

Hotel was not entirely bad though. Decor was very sleek and modern and the food is great. Even the room service food was top notch.

A bit of a walk into the main area but not far by any means....maybe 15 mins walking. Our room had a city view which was a bit noisy with the club below and with street traffic but overall still not bad. Do request a higher floor if you're sensitive to noise when sleeping though!

Room Tip: city view is quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schatzibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Modern Honolulu and was perfect! I loved the design!
we had a problem in the first night because our room was in front of the elevator and since 5am we could listen the bell, so ask for room away from the elevator!
But when we complained about that, they immediately changed the room.
The staff (reception, pool, concierge, ...) very friendly.
The Fitness Center has good equipment, although not so many , but good amenities.
The best part of the hotel are the pools. During the sunset, there is live music and good drinks.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms in front of the elevators (the elevator's bell is noisy!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichMT1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,520 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Property: The Modern Honolulu
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing