We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service at all times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Loved the large king room, was bright and modern decor with a large bathroom. Service at every point was friendly and expedient . Food and drinksat the pool bar were of a consistently good standard, either breakfast,( pretty good coffee) lunch and snaks. Staff were always friendly. Our favorite staff were our three very helpfull concierges.. A delight to deal with , always extremely helpful and friendly. vince was great with our late night latte deliveries to our room, always offering great holiday tips.The study bar is a great place for good cocktails and music in the evening. We can not fault this establishment, can't wait to return. Made our first trip to Honolulu very pleasant and memorable. Spa and gym just topped it off too. Location is good, ESP if you want to shop at ala moana centre, it's a ten min walk ... Waikiki centre is about a 20 min walk away.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherlainechara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,440 - 3,446 of 4,182 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very modern and stylish facility in the hotel. Not big, quietly but definitely not boring the ambience. The staff are very attentive and Nice. Total satisfied! In the hotel there is one of the best sushi restaurants and one of the best clubs of the city.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tashenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Modern Honolulu for 4 nights in September. The rooms, hotel decor and amenities are very nice. The hotel staff is top notch and location is near Ala Moana and to the center of Waikiki. The Charthouse and Red Lobster are close by if you want to grab a quick meal. The adjacent harbor and beaches are adjacent to the Modern.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times, both when it was the Edition and after it became the Modern. It has slowly deteriorated since the hostile and possibly illegal takeover (the story of the takeover is an interesting one--read about it in news archives).

The rooms are the same: rather small, but attractive. The bathrooms offer very little privacy (that hasn't changed). The grounds and staff are still attractive. The fitness room is excellent.

Areas of decline:
There used to be a lot of staff around. Now there is serious under-staffing, especially at the valet and less so at the bar.

Originally the bar had an incredible drink menu put together by a top-notch mixologist. After he left, they kept most of his drinks for a while, but now they are almost all gone, replaced by nothing of note.

There used to be bathrobes in the rooms and the best smelling hotel soap that I ever smelled. Now the robes are gone and the soap is run-of-the-mill.

There are not even umbrellas in the room any more.

This is still a nice place to stay, but it is not nearly as hip or design-oriented as it once was.

Room Tip: Don't expect a real ocean view unless you pay for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at the modern for 3 nights last week, it is a beautiful hotel with really nice decor etc. The pool is fantastic and I loved that it wasn't full of tourists. Sitting down by the pool to have breakfast in the outdoor restaurant was amazing & the staff were so helpful. The rooms have a lovely view of the Marina & the hotel is within walking distance to Ala Moana shopping centre. It is on the outskirts of Waikiki but still really close, it was quite nice to be out of all the hustle and bustle of downtown honolulu, definitely the perfect hotel for honeymooners!

Room Tip: Twin rooms do not have balcony's although doubles do. The City View rooms have views of the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macy_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Was in town for a conference, and found a deal via Tripadvisor so stayed here versus the giant mega-resort next door. I generally like the smaller "boutique" hotels, so I was in general happy with the stay, but some minor irritations added up to a less than "wow" experience.
Pros: Location a little down from the main drag of Waikiki, so less crowds, but still an easy walk to the restaurants. Convenient parking (they only have valet parking, which is $28/day with in/out--kind of pricey, but comparable to other cities, and the valet service was usually quick and efficient). Ecocabs always at the door. Didn't spend much time at the pool, but the adults-only wading pool was pretty (if totally useless for swimming).
Cons: When we checked in, only had a room with two doubles rather than the king bed I requested. Offered to switch us halfway through the stay, but who wants to re-pack and unpack again for a few nights? I realize bed preferences aren't guaranteed, but it would have made a difference if the front desk staff was apologetic about this rather than seemingly totally indifferent. Platform beds, with platforms that stick out in each direction from the mattress. Two platform beds = way too many opportunities to hit your ankles/stub toes really hard getting around the room. I still have bruises a week later. Even on the 11th floor there was a lot of street noise.
A few notes--the bathroom has a sliding door and jalousie-style wooden windows between it and the room, so there's not much privacy if that's a concern at all. There's no ice machines, but they fill your ice bucket with their turn-down service, and bring ice on request. They included some bonus coronas with our ice bucket, which was a nice touch--however, we couldn't find a bottle opener in the room, so that was a little irritating.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Synne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

When looking for hotels for a 3 night stay in Honolulu, I checked out all the larger resorts and just did not want to be around 100's of other guests when I wanted to relax. I picked the modern because its boutique feel and size appealed to me. The staff was awesome, the food yummy and the pool...quiet and lovely. It def. Has the south beach vibe going for it!

Room Tip: Ocean view isn't really an ocean view but it's still nice to look over the pool area and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinePhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
348 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $243 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing