We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Best Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here with three friends and not one of us could fault it. Friendly/helpful staff, nice modern and clean rooms. The pool was great as well as the service. Even the Eco cabs at the front were a plus :) I have travelled a fair bit and i could say it is probably the best hotel ive ever stayed at. All four of us would not even think twice as to where to stay next time we visit hawaii.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,629
    738
    204
    65
    33
See reviews for
593
1,723
183
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Super modern, clean and relaxing. Great to be a small distance away from the craziness of the main beach but very easy to walk there. Loved being near the calm, beautiful harbour.The hotel is very modern but finds nice ways to make it feel homly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boznicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Modern. Our first room (city view room) was a bit too noisy for us, although reception were happy to move us to a quieter room the next night, where there was no noise at all. The pool areas are exceptional, and it was great to have iced water and sorbet brought around without having to ask for it. The rooms were tastefully decorated and spacious The hotels restaurant was also exceptional, the Peanut Butter dessert is a must try! Overall the Modern is a great choice if you want to stay somewhere thats contemporary, modern and a short walk from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki.

Room Tip: The first room we stayed in was a city view room on level 4 which was a bit too noisy for us. Recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_J815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

As a 12 Year old girl my exquite time in honolulu, I stayed in the magnificent Modern Honolulu it was by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in, and i have travelled a fair bit staying in 5 star hotels but The modern was the best. During my time in hawaii it was my first time there and i didn't know what to do so i got up from my beautiful luxury hotel room, down to the concierge where i met Miss Stephanie,she was so helpful telling me all the different types of attractions you could do in hawaii. One of the many things we discussed was how i had a little puppy back home that i was missing so much, Miss Stephanie as a special treat for me, organized to bring in her own puppy for me to play with which i enjoyed a lot. One thing i really enjoyed was sitting by the pool watching the sunset over the harbor enjoying the music above water and underneath the water with my strawberry smoothie in one hand and my spicy fries in the other. At the Modern Honolulu you could not fault the staff at all, from the bellboy Henry to the pool attendant Justin and Derek who made the best strawberry smoothies in hawaii, even to Jocelyn who drove an "echo cab" giving me Aloha hugs every morning as you can see i had the best time in hawaii.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great contemporary hotel with all amenities of a world class hotel especially Morimoti Restaurant.
super hip place to be seen, pool has great vibe to it. Staff were great, and would recommend to any young person looking for something in Waikiki thats not the old fashioned cheesy places

Room Tip: I did hear loud music from my room and cars on main road i stayed in room 624
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevesmith15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Staff (especially concierge and pool) where fantastic. Mostly young professionals. Great pool area and lovely clean rooms most with a decent view. Enjoyed every minute of our stay would definitely recommend...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slsmith24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Il
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Modern for two nights.Our first room was on the street side so I asked for a quiter location, without hesitation the young lady at the front desk changed our room and it was great! The staff where all very nice, beds great and would definitely stay again. Oh and location is good too.

Helpful?
Thank andrhickm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#6 of 85 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 85 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,067 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Property: The Modern Honolulu
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing