We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Modern is a paradise within paradise. Its refreshingly different to all other places in Waikiki, with its own uniques style. The staff are incredibly friendly & always going above & beyond to make our stay extra special. Looking forward to returning next year!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordanc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,465 - 3,471 of 4,182 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

For a mid-40s no kids travelling couple this hotel was exactly what we wanted. No frills but a feeling of controlled luxury. Excellent staff who are communicative and open at all times. Functional areas that do what one needs and nothing pretentious. Atmosphere for partying and Hawaii style fun is there but it's not forced down your throat and you can have a quiet holiday without knowing it. The rooms are the right size and shape and for the price, excellent. Everything we needed was working.

This should be called the "Modern, Cool, Hip but Honest Hotel" because that's what I thought of it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CultureChaser1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

..from check in to check out it was great to stay here!! The front desk staff was very accomadating and friendly..we had 4 rooms for 2 nights..allt he rooms had great views and balconies..overlooking the pool and the ocean/beach!!!1
Best view was Friday night fireworks from the Hotel next door..but The Modern had the best view!!!!
The decor was very fresh and surf-like...the rooms were crisp and clean and made you feel like you were in Hawaii!!
Loved it here...Loved Hawaii!!!!

Room Tip: ..get a room overlooking the pool...awesome atmosphere!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Modern is an exemplary hotel that made my holiday experience perfect! The modern decor is aesthetically stunning and calming. Staff were attentive, rooms were incredibly clean, food was delicious, spa service was heavenly and the location was great - 2 min walk to beach and 10 minute walk either way to both main shopping areas/restaurants. I will be a repeat customer again and again, as will those I travelled with.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ebony-Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a really lovely place to rest and relax.

We stayed here at the end of our trip, relaxed by the pool and visited the shops nearby.

It is very smartly decorated and the staff are friendly and accessible.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonia o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel was on the harbor front and just a short 3 minute walk to the beach. It is the end of a boardwalk that runs along the Waikiki beach line which allows one to go jogging or easy access to the beach front. The hotel staff were very friendly and helped with any requests or needs.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed at The Modern for 3 nights on our way back from the Ironman World Championships on Kona and could not have asked for a more relaxed and chilled environment. Had an ocean view suite which was fresh and clean and it overlooked the harbour aswell as the quiet end of Waikiki beach. The Modern is very funky and has an boutique feel to it that the much larger hotels cannot match. Its only a short 5-10 minute walk to either Waikiki beach precinct or to the Ala Moana shopping complex so perfectly placed. We used the concierge service numerous times and nothing was too much trouble which was fantastic. On our last night we treated ourselves to a sunset dinner at the Moderns restaurant Morimoto as it has a fantastic view over the harbour at sunset which is unique to the Modern. Do yourself a favour and try the pineapple tempura. 3 days was not enough time unfortunately so we plan to return and will definitely be staying at the Modern when we do.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank windnutt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
342 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $243 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing