We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So far, no good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just checked in to the hotel, problems already. Front desk seems more concerned with chatting on phone with friends then helping. Arrived at 2:30, was told our room was almost ready pending inspection from their waitstaff. 20 minutes later, still no room. 30 minutes later told room would be ready in 10 minutes. Half hour after that, was done waiting, argued and put in an "ocean view" room that looks directly to the
neighboring hotel, however, if you hang over the railing you see the harbor. Still being charged for an ocean view. Day 1, not living up to expectations, we shall see. Nothing offered to compensate us for the wait or the poor room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,074)
There are newer reviews for The Modern Honolulu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,388 - 3,394 of 4,074 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

A very nice hotel close to Waikiki. A modern design hotel but still a personal touch and the staff do all there best so you can enjoy the stay. I strongly reecommend this hotel if you will spend some nights in Honolulu

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pelle_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hotel is trendy, beautifully appointed, with delightful quirks such as ukuleles and swatches of bright Hawaiian fabrics in the rooms. Very elegant decor, lovely pools, steps from the beach. Staff are very helpful and extremely professional. Lovely place to hang out on deep couches, listening to Buddha Lounge type music. Live shows in the evenings, excellent restaurant (Morimoto Waikiki), a good bar (only place I've been able to find Averna), and a night club on the weekends (didn't try that). My only complaint is that breakfast service is really really slow, and so if one is in a hurry best to go elsewhere, like the coffee shop across the street.

Room Tip: Supposedly ocean views are quieter - however late night revelers in the pool can really spoil that...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJWSanFrancisco_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We really enjoyed staying here. It was less than a 10min walk to the main strip and 5 minute walk to Ala Moana shopping centre. There is and ABC and a McDonalds just across the street for anything you need. The staff were never to busy to help us or give advice on where to go and what to do. Wifi was free everywhere in the hotel. The pool area is great for day and night.
Our room was always clean and the view was great.

Will be going back

Room Tip: Rooms with 2 double beds have no balcony. Rooms with 1 king bed have a balcony
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosssmith1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I loved everything about The Modern - it is so cool. The rooms were spotless, brand new, spacious and provided everything you'd need. They looked exactly like the photos on their website too. The pool areas and bars were also great - loved the fact that they had a shallow adult pool as well as the main pool. Service throughout our stay was excellent - staff were all polite and friendly, professional and unpretentious and helpful when asked anything. We had cocktails in the bar which were both excellent. Morimotos restaurant was also very good - I'd definitely recommend the Shrimp Tempura - it was just awesome! The hotel is 15 minutes by taxi from the airport ($30) and 10 minutes walk to the Ala Moana Shopping Centre. If I go back to Oahu I will definitely stay at The Modern again - and I rarely stay at the same twice, preferring to try new places. I have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone wanting some laidback luxury. We stayed here for the last night of our honeymoon and we couldnt have chosen anywhere better!

Room Tip: There is a club at the hotel so we requested a room away from it and got a room on the top floor. We...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank India M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Loved the Modern Hotel, clean and contemporary, rooms are exactly as appears on website photos. The rooms as so clean and spacious, beds comfortable, marvellous views from room of harbour. Loved that the decor is not the norm 80's style floral with musty smell.

Being Australian and travelling to Asia alot, I find Hawaii's pool areas disappointing in general in comparison to Asian Resorts. The Modern would have to have one of the best pool areas on the strip, with its decking, garden, pretty lighted areas at night and choice of two pool areas.

The hotel is short 10minute walk, via beach or road to mad mile, and a delightful hop up the road to the number one tourist attraction to me, Ala Moana!

Modern is sexy and has a cool vibe

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Modern is a hotel I really like...I’ve stayed in it twice the last 8 months for more than a week each time. Cool vibe. Simple, sleek look. Great location. Some great staff. Service was hit or miss both stays.

You receive service or you don’t receive service. It might not seem like much but you do notice if you are on the ‘don’t’ side of things.
I was traveling solo and overlooked a lot. When others around you experience things you don’t, you do feel invisible.
Poolside was the most disappointing. Being overlooked by servers at the pool almost every day for over a week (both stays) was interesting. The good news is they saved me a lot of money...almost enough for another ticket back. Would I stay there again? Maybe. It fills many of the needs I had during my time in Honolulu. I know what to expect and what not to expect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank painter_sculptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
233 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,556 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $188 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing