We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So chic and hip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our stay at the modern was an incredible one. The hotel is beautiful/modern and unlike any others in Waikiki. The service was awesome and rooms so clean and beds so comfortable. The pool was our favorite to hang out at even with the beach so close to us. I highly recommend for people looking for a young hip place to stay! We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Syllee15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,486 - 3,492 of 4,124 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Loved this hotel! I recently stayed at the Modern Honolulu on a business trip with a few added days of leisure. Our company blocked rooms for our meetings and utilized the conference areas.  The Modern is a contemporary boutique hotel located between the edge of Ala Moana Shopping Center and the Waikiki Strip (walking distance).  Easy to find if driving for the first time. The hotel lobby was inviting, with an additional tucked away lounge area that doubled as a bar at night and club on the weekends. The front desk, concierge, and valet staff were friendly and very courteous.  The concierge was able to rent cars for us the same day, and was conveniently located just across the street. The rooms were crisp white with a touch of Hawaiian flair, and very clean. Although my room didn't have the best view, the extremely comfortable bed and pillows made it worth it! The large flat screen and free Wifi were an added plus!

Both pool areas were relaxing with it's lounge chairs, lounge beds, and gorgeous bay views. The ambience at night- the lights in the trees, ocean breeze, and soft Hawaiian music in the background.  The poolside staff service was so-so.. there were more not-so-helpful food service attendants than friendly ones.  However, the special pizza (of the day) and the pork tacos were our group's favorites!  We frequented Morimoto's Restaurant in the hotel for both breakfast and dinner. We loved the contemporary oceana decor, not to mention the food was excellent! The breakfast Banana Pancakes are a definite must try!! If diners are more your style, the Wailana Cafe is just a short walk away.. Great food for the value with excellent courteous service!

As for catering our conference meetings, the staff were friendly and helpful.  For the most part the food was good, there just seemed to be quite a few things that ran out quickly- food and iced tea (breakfast and lunches), water on the conference tables, and napkins.

Overall, the experience was very enjoyable. We look forward to returning again! I would recommend this hotel for business, couples, ladies/gents weekends, and families.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MB_Cine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic B, Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you for writing about you recent corporate meeting at our hotel. Most people don't know that we have the 3rd largest ballroom in Waikiki at over 9000 sq ft!! I believe if you are going to have to work while you are in Hawaii it should be at the MODERN. Once we leave a day full of meetings you can start to experience all the hotel has to offer--- happy hour, amazig food, spa and our 24 hour swimming pools and fitness center.
The staff loved having your group stay with us and we hope to see you all again next year!
Thank you,
Nic Barger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are small but very clean. Great bathroom. We paid 339/nt for ocean view
which is only from balcony.
Had my birthday party at Morimotos, which by the way is excellent! So we stayed here.
First off, this hotel is ok, it's just for the price the service needs a lot of help. A welcome basket sent by a friend to be waiting in my room was delivered after we arrived. Even more embarrassing for them this same friend needed to call them when she found out we never received the choc covered strawberries ordered. This was set up day before we arrived, I guess they never got the memo.
Check in took awhile to get acknowledged. Maybe I've been spoiled
and expect better.
Oh by the way, in the morning no hot water! My husband took a cold shower and I waited until I got home.
Next time we'll go to the Kahala, Halekulani,Moana Surfrider or Royal Hawaiian, because at least we know we will get what we pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank limones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights before flying to Maui. We really enjoyed it. As you enter the hotel, there is a beautiful scent that permeates the lobby. We couldn't figure out what it was but we all liked whatever scent they were using. We got a great price on this hotel and were supposed to have a "city view". Since the hotel is pretty much on the ocean, those rooms cost a lot more. To our surprise, our room had a decent view of the ocean. The beds were very comfortable and the maids did a good job tidying up and provided turn down service too. I will say that the bathroom is a little odd with these wooden window shutters that peer into the bedroom. It's not horrible but you can really torment people by opening and closing the shutters while they are using the restroom. The toilet paper holder is also located in a very bizarre place kind of behind the toilet so you have to actually remove it to get the tp off of it. Pool was gorgeous with tons of seating with lots of couches and pillows and beds. The staff is very nice down there and sets everything up for you. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because of the bathroom but we all very much enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimbop324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nic B, Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you for your nice comments about your stay at the hotel. The scent you smell when you arrived in our lobby was Plumeria. I'm glad you noticed it and enjoyed it.
I hope when you come back to Hawaii that we get to have you as our guest again. It was truly a pleasure.
Mahalo!
-Nic Barger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Nice conveinent hotel close to the but away from the bustle of downtown. The place to go to breakfast is across the street below the Chart house which is a good place to eat dinner. The Shore bird is also a good place to eat breakfast. The staff are attenative to your needs and if you want to have coffee in your room they will bring a keurig along with the pods; just ask. The is a few other places to eat breakfast on Ala Moana ; take a walk and you will find them. I've stayed here two times and each time I stay is for the convienence of location.

Room Tip: Facing the Pool not the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bpsencik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Modern Honolulu. Our room was clean and fresh looking, the staff were always helpful and friendly, the pool was a beautiful area to relax and was never overcrowded and the food was good. It is nice and close to Ala Moana shopping centre and only a 15 min walk into the main strip. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Extremely pleasant experience from the attitude of the front desk staff to the superior meals at Morimoto. Facilities are first class and the location, while a little off the beaten path, is in a very nice spot alongside the Ala Wai Harbor. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desron9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
276 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,568 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $232 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing