We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, wonderful staff and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2012

By my standards this hotel was a five star.

The hotel is very clean and comfortable, the room was beautiful. The staff always very helpful and the location was close to everything. Great customer service! When you are greeted with cheerful smiles it makes all the difference. The hotel is fairly new and they still seem to be ironing out some of the procedures but the staff is so great it is never a problem.

The concierge service was extremely helpful. We dealt mainly with Stephanie she was so wonderful. At first it was a little difficult for me because I was expecting to find information at the hotel. They have no pamphlets on site. Everything is so clean and sleek. They provide free internet so you can check everything out on your computer. Then they make all arrangements and suggestions and there is always someone available to answer questions. The front desk staff are also wonderful.

The pool was beautiful and we were sad that we did not have the opportunity to go to the restaurant on site it was always so busy and had we planned ahead we may have been able to get reservations.

We did many activities including surfing lessons, sailing and snorkelling, rented a car and travelled around the island, Para sailing, etc. everything was amazing. The highlight for our whole family including my teenage children was the visit to Pearl Harbour with its great museums, visiting the submarine and the monument was overwhelming. It was an amazing experience and not to be missed if you visit Oahu.

We loved everything about our trip and would most definitely visit Oahu and the Modern hotel again in the future. Thanks to all the staff at the Modern for making our trip so memorable.

Room Tip: We had a city and ocean view and were on the 16th floor. We did not have a balcony but it was reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank izzyb569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,723 - 3,729 of 4,126 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

Modern Hotel is in the best location in Waikiki within walking distance to every shop & restaurant imaginable and also very close to the Ala Moana mall (best mall I've ever been to!)  Staff, from Gabrielle at the front desk to the valet guys, are incredibly friendly and helpful with everything from copying documents to providing change and advising where to go to get your nails done!  The rooms are very hip, modern, clean and comfortable.  Love the linens even down to the bath mat!!  Having my own personal patio which overlooks the marina and ocean is such a treat; love sitting out there to watch the sunset each night!!! The furniture is not only stylish but extremely comfortable; love the chaise, patio chairs and bed!!   The pool area is large and comfortable and the bar behind the revolving book case is too cool for words!  Having the morimoto restaurant downstairs is an added bonus!  I can't recommend this hotel enough whether staying for business or pleasure; short or long term!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank destes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I had a very enjoyable stay, the service was wonderful, the rooms nice and roomy, good view of the ocean, the food was good, the pools were wonderful, could lounge and watch the sunset, very short walk to beautiful beach. Fun for all ages!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I got a great deal on this hotel BUT you have to order ice from room service. What? A tip is not what I want to pay just to make a drink. I understand they want me to buy their expensive drinks but that is not always on my agenda. The pool service is great-no issues there. The crowds out in the driveway at night (the bar crowd) are a little overwhelming. I felt their focus was on the clubs they have in the building. I will go back to a simpler atmosphere on my next trip. You have to smoke outside on the driveway and I did, but was questioned about smoking in my room, which I didn't!

Room Tip: Pay for a balcony otherwise you get a window that opens with a rail!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Perfect place for a peaceful vacation. We enjoyed every minute! Great pool area, very friendly staff, nice modern room. Morimoto's restaurant was also amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SinceMay2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Got a good deal with one of those bid sites. Two adults and two kids (8 and 22). Not our typical style, but worked out very well. The hotel is good, pool small but warm, service great. Morimoto's restaurant is great and may set the tone for the whole hotel. Thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leroi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The rooms were quite appealing to the eye. The bed was very comfortable. I was on the fifth floor and could hear and feel the music from the nightclub below till 3 am each night. Had to have a maintenance technician come fix my aircoditioner due to a loud noise it was making. He arrived immediately after the call and was quick and professional. Nice pool and pool atmosphere. Checking in took forever. The gym was appropriately equipped. Overall not a bad place if you can get a high floor.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cph4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
278 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $189 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. LATHER spa features treatments developed around the purest products in the world -- natural, organic, and sustainable. Local and house-made culinary menus are offered for poolside and in-room dining, complemented by RAVISH Restaurant which blends our Island’s bounty with Asian flavors and South American tastes creating a true Pacific Rim experience. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun while a vibrant scene at The Study lobby bar is the spot for an evening rendezvous. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing