We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice beach park - not too crowded”

Fort DeRussy Beach Park
Ranked #22 of 322 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice beach park - not too crowded”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Not too crowded. Some green space. If you are to stay the day, you may want to rent an umbrella. You can find several rentals on the beach. We only stayed 2 hours, so we didn't bother renting. But we used lots of sunscreen.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank linda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    866
    538
    104
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice and peaceful”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Take a book, rent a chair an umbrella then go into relax mode from the sound of the waves. This is a peaceful location, less crowed and worth taking time to enjoy the view.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Get a mat and a hat”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We strolled upon this park by accident really on the way back past the sheraton Waikiki. It's a lovely space and lots of people had their grills on which made fir a very pleasant aroma. It was very clean and there're was Also a fair amount of military presence. We wanted to hire an umbrella and chair but it was$20 for 2 chairs and an umbrella for 1 hour. That will be a no thanks for our family it would have been $40. I bought a large towel down the way for $18 and lay on the grass under a tree, thanks!!!
On the way out we came across 2 weddings so a popular place for intimate nuptials too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ebonyqueen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
467 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“A Peaceful place to Stroll”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

A wonderful green space among the hotels. Beautiful gardens and trees. Saw several families and couples sitting in the grass reading or playing catch.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrishA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beach volleyball courts!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

My husband and I were walking through and the beach was lovely and we saw beach volleyball courts too! But it's not for the public apparently. In any case, the view of the beach was lovely and the sea was very nice too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jezzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort DeRussy Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort DeRussy Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing