We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Goma Tei Ramen

Goma Tei Ramen
Ranked #299 of 2,337 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
195 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Best HOT POT ever!!

Like ever ever and eternity ever. Unless of course, they open a new place in mainland right next to my house. Then I'll have to make that my fav spot since I can have it anytime I want. Hopefully with less lines.

Food~ Hot Pot!!! All the broth you can choose. I always go for house special! Always! You can choose your meat, your broth and then go raid the fridge. Plates are colored and priced varied on them colors. I normally end up doing a ton of $4.99 plates since they are the good ones with lots of seafood.

Wait time- holy wait time! I would like to stop time one just so I can walk RIGHT IN without that massive, insane, crazy, hot mess wait. But good things require patience. Definitely when it comes to good food.

And the best part?? Free dessert of giant shave ice bowl! SO YUmmmy. It has tapioca, gelatins and even mochiiii. Yummm. I also love their special hot sauces that you can make your own. Oh and you get free rice! Food coma to the max!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LatifaS_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    63
    23
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
213 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great, if you don't mind the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

First time to visit, after always walking past and seeing a line. Thought might not be a line at 3:30 p.m. on a Sunday, but wrong assumption. Had the char sui pork shoyu ramen and it was pretty good. Pork reminded me and seemed comparable with one restaurant I previously reviewed in Las Vegas on Spring Mountain Road. Table guests had the traditional and popular tan tan spicy. I tried it but had a bit of a bite to me but not to my guests. I thought the shoyu base was fine enough. Line is also due to limited seating, only 4 tables and counter seating. They turn the tables pretty fast though.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DT808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Stupendous! Do not miss.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Char Sui pork tan tan broth raimen was my best meal in Hawaii. Da best comfort food. Terrific broth with excellent taste. Char Sui pork belly melts in your mouth. Great Goya.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kiki1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Try the Seafood Tan tan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

When I'm in Honolulu, this is one of my favorites spots. Food comes quick and they 're always pleasant. After several visits, they know what I like: Seafood Tan Tan extra extra spicy. What a treat. The broth is delicious, good sized portions and priced right. When it comes to eating out, the food and service must go hand in hand. If the food is good but service is bad, won't spend $$$ there. Likewise, if service is great but food is not, won't be back. Goma Tei Ramen doesn't disappoint and the service keeps us coming back again and again.

This place is at the Ward Center with ample free parking. It's clean and servers are attentive. They seem to hire the right people. Great place to stop by before or after the movies, shopping or when you crave superb ramen.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ExecDude500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
244 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Happy surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Returned to Honolulu after many years to discover new styles of restaurants. 10 years ago one went to a Chinese restaurant for noodles. Saimin stands offered small bowls of plain soup noodles topped with a little green onion and maybe a slice or two of dry, red char siu. The char siu at Goma Tei is made of thin flank, rolled and roasted until the fat and connective tissue melt to butter. The char siu ramen is covered with three generous slices. The tan tan stock is rich and spicy, It was a full meal and completely different from anything else I've had in Honolulu. We went at 3 pm to avoid the crowds and got a table immediately. Will definitely go pack to try some of the other options

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goma Tei Ramen also viewed

 

Been to Goma Tei Ramen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing