We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views and settings overshadow food and prices”

Tropics Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Tropics Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #148 of 2,339 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: American, Bar, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Victor, New York
Level Contributor
228 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great views and settings overshadow food and prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Eat outside, don't look at the price of the food, order simple "do no wrong" fare and be happy. The nachos are huge and will feed 3, so enjoy the Mai Tai's and the amazing eye candy and drink to your hearts content. Ahhh...Hawaii.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nawlins007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    617
    395
    147
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Food ok, pricey but average for hotel in Waikiki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great location, nice music, good burgers. Sit on the outside area for a beautiful view of the sunset.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CNPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Some very good things, some very bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were staying at the HHV and this was our most common on-site venue. The food is expensive, hey, its Waikiki. The burger was good, the Poke also, steak was nasty. Forget breakfast! $29 for a standard ham and eggs breakfast! Go to the Wailana Coffee House acroos the street.

The evening entertainment is excellent but ends very early. Once the trio or whatever is done, staff begin to make it clear that its time to go. Nice beach view, but if you just want a Mai Tai or beer by the beach there are other hotels further down the beach that have better views and ambiance, all with entertainment that is good quality.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tango9R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great service but pricey food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stopped in here with not much time to catch the submarine trip. We were seated promptly and there was a little wait for service but once we told them we were in a hurry they made every effort to get us feed and out on time. The food was good, nothing particularly special, the view cannot be matched as you are right on Waikiki. The cost of the food and drinks were a little high, but then again you are siting beach-front in Waikiki.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Casual dining on the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Tropics Bar & Grill restaurant on the grounds of the Hilton Hawaiian Village is one of the few that is actually on the water. We decided to take our chances for Sat. night and arrived at 7:30 pm (they don't take reservations). Of course the place was packed with a live band performing. A wait to sit outside was 40 mins but for inside only 15 mins so we took that.

We just wanted a light dinner and shared the Portugese Bean Soup, Caesar Salad and Calzone - food was really good especially the soup. Can't remember the name of the local band that was performing but they were excellent.

After dinner we strolled on the boardwalk along the waterfront, it was a gorgeous evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabulash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropics Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Tropics Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing