We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“KevaJ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropics Bar & Grill

Tropics Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Tropics Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #149 of 2,326 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: American, Bar, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Temple Hills, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“KevaJ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The service and food were good, however, fighting off the birds from eating your food before you did was too much. Having birds land on your table or walk around your feet is not sanitary at all.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    609
    389
    147
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago,il
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“service needs a tune up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Service was horrible and food was not that much better. Wife and I decided to take a break from the sun and get some food around lunchtime. We went around noon and there were many tables open with no one sitting at them but they still made us wait over 30 minutes. They gave us one of the vibrating things to tell you when you are ready to be seated, well it never vibrated. So after 30 mins we went up and asked them how much longer it would be....they told us they had buzzed us a while ago and couldnt find us. Um...we were seated right in front of them looking at them the whole time but ok? The waitress we had was nice, but the food was nothing special. Needless to say this was the only time we went to this place our whole stay.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hayden23911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bring the Vaseline...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Seriously...this place is tragic. Prices are through the roof ($25 for bacon & eggs), service is absent, dishes are dirty and the whole experience was awful. And that was breakfast. I know we should have been prepared for over-priced, less-quality resort food but this was a joke. The views are great, but not great enough to make up for the issues with food, service or cleanliness.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank onlifeguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, awesome atmosphere!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Had dinner at this restaurant, the food was fabulous and the entertainment from a live band was fantastic, the waitstaff were very friendly and helpful. Fantastic location right on the beach!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good service and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I did enjoy the daily happy hour and found the food to be good and the bartenders to be cordial. Great views of the beach and the bar area had many flat screen tvs to watch sporting events.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropics Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing