We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Honolulu
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveler rating
28
83
92
45
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
28
83
92
45
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watch tv boogie boards udon noodles adjoining rooms beach equipment living area mini fridge the international market pearl harbor stove trolley
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 335 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2020

We found BED BUGS at Kūhiō Banyan Hotel!!! Stay away!! Even worse, management is rude, terrible and will not refund you for used OR unused nights, even if you bring live bugs to the front desk and show that you were bitten. Talk about a health hazard. The clerk actually tried to insinuate we brought them in, which is so wrong. We’re fastidious people who react badly to the bites, so I can 1000% guarantee we did not bring those bugs in. We never have ANY pest control problems at home.

Their only solution was to switch our room, which we declined because bed bugs can travel between walls. How could they guarantee another room was bug free? 1/3 of people don’t react to the bites, so no complaints don’t mean no bugs. And how many guests were unaware and mistook the bites for something else? After how we were treated, the trust was gone.

We made the mistake of choosing this hotel instead of a national chain because we wanted a kitchenette and to support a local business. Never again. The rest of our group went to national chains with zero problems.

Things other reviewers complained about that we were willing to overlook:

1. The nightclub downstairs that pumps the bass with clubgoers screaming from 1-3:30am. We were far enough away, it was just tolerable. But I can’t imagine being in the rooms right above the club.
2. Noisy downtown location in front of a busy bus stop (constant traffic)
3. Dated decor and run down, slummy apartments right next door
4. Can’t open windows & the window AC can just barely keep up with the heat
5. Bathroom jalousie windows are stuck open with no other ventilation so the bathroom stays humid and smelly
6. Hot water takes forever to come on
7. Front desk closes at 10pm so if you need anything you’re SOL until the morning or $45 new key charge. Don’t get locked out!
8. No free parking included or anywhere nearby

We were ok dealing with all of that, but BED BUGS are a dealbreaker! To ensure we didn’t bring them home (they can be a nightmare to get rid of), we had to throw away our luggage and ziplock all our belongings at the airport, then wash & dry everything at the laundromat before taking it home. At least we saw them. Can’t imagine all the people staying here who may be taking bed bugs home unaware.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KinaHinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2019 via mobile

Lovely place to stay, we stayed here for our stay in Hawaii. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location which is located close to a bus route.

Only negative thing was we paid for 17 postcards to be posted back to the U.K but now almost 5 weeks have passed with no one receiving any of the 17 handed for posting?

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Reddevil20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2019

This motel (not a "club" so much) is located in a spectacular spot right in the heart of downtown Honolulu, in the midst of all the restaurants and shopping! Therefore, the price paid is a pretty decent value. The property itself is dated and basic, but perfectly fine if you don't plan to spend a lot of time in your room (and in Hawaii, why would you?). There are Murphy beds, freshly vacuumed carpets, full kitchenettes, and comfy couches-- all you could want for a stay where you don't need luxury, but just a place to sleep. Staff are acceptably friendly.
However, there are two caveats-- 1.) the Front Desk is not 24/7, so if you lose your key or arrive after 10:00 pm, you are out of luck! They will charge you a fee for letting you into your room. 2.) They charge you a resort fee. It isn't much compared to other hotels in the area, but since this is not even close to a resort-- for instance, there is no pool or hot tub-- I am not sure what these charges are supposed to be for.
Others have complained about the noise from the nightclub next door but I was not bothered. However, I am a very sound sleeper!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2019

Not worth the price I'd paid for a time share. With the cost of "time share" including exchange fees and all other fees, a hotel by the beaches would be much more pleasant at less money. The front desk was only opened during business hours. My unit was on the 3rd floor. I'd placed garbage outside front door and a homeless person walked into my unit. I chased him out and called a report to closed ears.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank darinyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2019

If your looking for low cost accommodation and are not concerned about the creature comforts, this is the place for you. Centrally located in Waikiki, close to public transport and endless shopping opportunities.

Air conditioning is insufficient. Bed is a fold down bed. Mattress and pillows were old and uncomfortable. The decor is old and very dated.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank brucegZ8089ZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews