We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel EVER! Be Afraid, Very afraid!”
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kuhio Banyan Club
Ranked #81 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Our plane got in at 10:30pm and I phoned the night before to ask why the hotel or reception was closed at10:00pm. The front desk told me that there would be a security guard waiting and have your PIN number ready to get your room key because we were checking in late. I said "0k cool". When we got there, we saw hookers and some undesirable people around, and we were carrying our luggage and we couldn't find the entrance like normal hotels you go to. Everything was closed and had security gates pulled down and I'm thinking to myself, WTF is going on here. The door to the hotel was locked and didn't see no security guard around or no buzzer to hit to let anybody you know that you are here. My wife is crying and I'm thinking with these people and hookers hanging around that we were gonna get robbed and get killed that night. There is a night club right next door.Nice. Eventually the security guy comes down and let's us in and we get to our room and to our surprise, the room Was Not made from the previous people who stayed there, and the little bar fridge was all moldy and towels everywhere on the floor. I called security and he let us in another room and he was the only good thing about that hotel (when he is working.) They get mad when you ask for fresh towels the next day, they said, "what, you used all the towels already!? So if you like people yelling on all hours of the night from the night club and sirens going off every night and not having fresh towels and riding a death trap of an elevator. Kuhio Banyan Club is the place for you. Oh yeah, if you like paying daily taxes for the room too about $16 per night.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Yudaman2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 250 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

If you're thinking of staying here, DON'T DO IT! We booked several nights at this hotel in Waikiki because it was cheap, and we assumed some of the bad reviews were written by snobs so we made the mistake of ignoring them. We arrived from the the airport at 12 am. Our flight had been delayed, but my confirmation from Orbitz stated that check-in time was between 4pm and 10am....so I assumed it was a 24 hour hotel and didn't bother calling from the airport. Not the case. We ran into a nice security guard that explained it would be a $45.00 fee for the hotel manager to drive over with our room key. We said that was fine and waited for over an hour for the manager to answer his or her phone, but ultimately the three employees that were contacted all refused to bring us a key. So we were left stranded in Waikiki with our hiking packs in the middle of the night. Awesome. We never got a refund from the hotel or from Orbitz, who really made the mistake here.
So a week later for our next reservation at Kuhio Banyan, we expected the worse....which we determined would be if there were no beds in the room. We go up to the room, and don't see a bed.....because it pulled out of a closet. A cardboard box would have been much better. After we settled in we made our way out for dinner, and while passing through the front lobby we heard a Japanese girl yelling from inside a utility closet. Somehow she got locked in there? The lady at the front desk was on the phone and wasn't phased by us letting her know what was going on, but she did get up to unlock the door at least....and out comes running this girl who looked like she was about to cry. But then it gets worse. When we get back from dinner I take the elevator up and get locked in there. At this point things were so ridiculous all I could do was laugh, and I was able to pry the door open so I didn't completely freak out.
If you stay here, you should expect to cry at some point during your visit. There are plenty of other hotels that are similar in price to choose from.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Maya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

It was last minute that we decided to go to Hawaii because my husband got a bonus. So we booked 2 weeks before & this was the only place available. I agree with all the other bad reviews. It was a studio like room, torn dirty gross carpet, the couch was dirty, faded Miami Vice color decorated. The bed came from the wall (like the 70s where you pull it down). It was a bad mattress like you feel the springs. It had a small refrigerator, a mini kitchen, bar area. The bathroom was old like just like an old run down beach place. No glam at all. Parking was bad, we had to pay $14 a night I believe in 2009. We did give the front desk cash for the parking for the attendant. We got taxed $163 for 8 days in a crummy place. It was on the main road strip, in front of a bus stop where a lot of bums lurk & bum money from us. Jack in the Box & Subway was also next to us so foot traffic was busy. Tour drivers and shuttle drivers have a hard time finding us since it's tucked away next to a nail salon (who did bad work on my 1 broken nail that did not match my other nails), and we are next to a ghetto night club. It was Ghetto - worst that the projects. The only good thing is that it's a close walk to the beach, stores & shopping.

Room Tip: Stay away! RCI must be told about this nasty place to be removed from their listing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mymelody1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel one night and had to check out. It should be banned for RCI members. this hotel is below the standard of a Motel 6. there are no beds in this room. It has a filthy couch and a murphy bed, which collapsed at around 3am for us. The stero is a cassette player! There are roaches absolutely everywhere. the hotel is on prostitute row. On our side of the street were the he/she prostitutes and the opposite side were female prostitutes. the staff were nice, but the roach motel is defenitely disgusting. Not to mention the blue carpet which is at leat 10-15 years old. On a good note RCI is giving me a full refund. They were great about it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MIS999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

First of all the location is walking distance (in Minutes) from the best Waikiki has to offer. Secondly the staff is great and helpful; free large beach towel/blankets you keep during your stay...boogie boards...coolers...beach chairs...All Free, just ask the desk. Our daughter works nearby for Jimmy Buffet in the/Ohana Beachcomber-Now Holiday Inn and it was less than a block away...Waikiki Beach (on the sand) 2.5 blocks...You are right in the action...sure the area is a bit noisy, a lot of people on the street, but the condo/room was quiet and we slept well.
Waikiki/Honolulu is a LARGE city and has the reputation of terrible traffic (worse than LA according to BLOOMBERG 2012) So it can be noisy...so go to the Big Island-Maui or for no sound Kauai.
People complain too much...Parking is all around, but it is VERY expensive, if you have to have a car, you have to bite the bullet.
Kuhio Banyan is The Best Value In Waikiki...Where else can you get a kitchenette in prime real estate for this low of a price. Want to go for peace and quiet for a 70's style hotel...then North Shore's Turtle Beach is for you...But Bring Your Credit Cards...better bring 2....

About 70% of Hawaii's total population lives on Oahu and Oahu is one of Hawaii's smaller islands with tall mountains in the middle.

Just save your hotel money, rent a car for a day or two.. Enjoy your stay...Do as little or as much as you like...Climb Diamondhead...go to Waimanalo Beach (East Shore) Kailua and com back to Honolulu thru the Pali Highway. Or go on to the North Shore (winter has the big waves) The town of Haleiwa ...stop and get a "Plate Lunch" at Teds Bakery at Sunset Beach" "Hawaiian Shave Ice" from truck venders on your journey around...With Jaw dropping views everywhere.

Room Tip: They are all the same...former time share/condo we had 315 good view quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheAnnouncer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed at the Kuhio for a few days then changed to another location due to a wedding. Found it to be reasonable as far as ambiance. No pool, but the beach is very close by. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The night crowds can be a bit loud. The young people who frequent the club downstairs are disperesed away from the grounds at closing which is approximately 4:00am.
A good pair of earplugs can be very helpful. I stayed with my mother and sister and found it tolerable. We did our shopping, sightseeing and all activities early, and found it to be no problem. Didn't see any hookers or otherwise seedy folk. The rooms are small. We were three so we had adjoining rooms. Worked out very well.

Room Tip: This hotel is centrally located to shops,restaurants,and other activities. The staff were extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nilda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The noise was intolerable at times, especially weekends. I can handle the noise from the street but the noise from the club downstairs and from its patrons was more than I could take. We left early and stayed at another hotel anticipating a noisy Friday night crowd. If you are there for the night life, then this is the ticket for you. Centrally located, it's and easy stumble back to you room from anywhere, especially from the club downstairs. We had two adjoining rooms, well furnished, very clean. The toilets, however, didn't flush well. You had to hold the handle down until it fully flushed. The lights in the ceiling fan didn't work so we had to get them fixed: one light bulb and one starter switch. Two washers and two dryers if you decide to do laundry. The bus stop is right out in front. There's a Subway just out front as well. The staff were super!!! I can't say enough on how friendly and helpful they were. If you have kids and aren't into the night life, then don't stay here. It doesn't quiet down until 4 AM.

Room Tip: Get there early and try to get the farthest room from the club. Also, you'll have to pay state a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Holiday Surf Hotel
Holiday Surf Hotel
#79 of 84 in Honolulu
190 reviews
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
268 reviews
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
White Sands Hotel
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
684 reviews
Waikiki
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
#83 of 84 in Honolulu
419 reviews
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
#75 of 84 in Honolulu
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuhio Banyan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuhio Banyan Club

Address: 2310 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2983
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $112 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kuhio Banyan Club 2*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kuhio Banyan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuhio Banyan Club Hotel Honolulu
Kuhio Banyan Club Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing