We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kuhio Banyan Club
Ranked #82 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I knew we had gotten a good rate on this accommodation however I would not stay or recommend to anyone to stay there again. It is desperate for renovations! Though the staff was kind, and other guests were friendly it didn't make up for the gross accommodations or the strip club directly below that will keep you us ALL night long! Our bed was duct taped together and came out of the wall. The only reason we stayed for the duration of our booking was only that it was prepaid. I won't be back! Hawaii was amazing and we found lots of nice places that kept us away from our hotel from morning till night!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Amyandbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Kuhio Banyan Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 233 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2012

Beware of this company!!! we booked 3 rooms at the Kuhio Banyan in Waikiki. When we arrived Agoda had only requested the Hotel book 1 room. We were left during Pro Bowl week to find 2 more rooms for a week!! We have been 2 weeks trying to get our money back for the 2 rooms we paid for and didn't get. Kuhio Banyan --old and located in crime area of Kuhio avenue. Would not recommend this Hotel at all.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The reviews I read had me worried for nothing. A freind is an owner and got my husband and I a great deal on one of the rooms. We are in our 40s & would not recommmend this place for kids due to no pool and location at night. We paid no extra fees like the other review mentioned, not sure if they had another type of rental agreement. This motel/hotel is in the heart of Waikiki close to everything you want to do. I never saw a cockroach & we evaluated for bed bugs and found none. Yes a night club is downstairs, but never heard a thing and we were directly above it. Hookers & homeless...yep saw them on Kuhio Ave. & on the beachwalk by the higher priced hotels. The place was dated but clean and everything worked in the room. No Shampoo/cond. but soap and towels provided daily. Hotel Security was always walking at night and you needed a seperate key for the outside door and your room. Yes it was the old style keys, but it is an old hotel. Beach towels available at the front desk but you had to keep them for the week. Washer & dryer available but always in use. Boogie Boards free to use at the front desk. Snorkel rental around the corner. Every place you want to eat right near your room. We saved a ton of money staying here and basically only slept in our room. We went to the North Shore and spend $300 on a room at Turtle Bay Resort which was really nice with an oceanview.....However, we felt like we needed to hang out in our room or at least at the hotel to get our moneys worth. If you plan to hangout in your room/resort and not explore Oahu then spend the increase money. Otherwise stay at the Kuhio Banyan Club & save your money for activities, food and rental cars. Check out the Tiki Bar at Aston Hotel we really liked it! Aloha

Room Tip: request a corner room I think they are a little bit bigger.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Aboyle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed at the Kuhio Banyan in mid January 2012. This place is not nice and we did find cockroaches in the room but no bed bugs as other reviews have mentioned....and we searched thoroughly. The carpet was old and very dirty as were the furnishings. The paint near light switches and doors was discolored from dirt and grime. Housekeeping only comes on Tuesday and they count and re-count every single towel and washcloth with stern warnings that you will pay dearly if one disappears. The nightclub/strip club on the ground floor is so loud some nights that the ineffective air conditioner is not even loud enough to drown out the noise.

We did not even stay for the entire time we had the place reserved. We were out of there before sunrise and did not return until after dark. Waikiki beach was within about 4 blocks so it was easy to get to although crowded as usual. Not much good to say about the Kuhio Banyan. Several other guests that are affiliated with RCI told us that this place was hands down the worst RCI property they have been to....by a long shot.

Other properties are within about 15 feet of his building and contain a multitude of interesting folks, long term renters I think. Each morning we were greeted by 10 or 20 minutes of coughing and hacking from one of the nearby chain smokers who had to clear a substantial amount of gunk from his lungs. The bus route is directly in front of the building and busy 24 hours a day making for lots of noise. Parking is awful if you rent a car and very expensive. The resort will nickel and dime you nearly to death at check in with additional fees and charges.

We will not return to this place ever again and will discourage everyone we know from staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Would only go to save on rooms if I was with a couple of male friends
Not some place I would take a wife or girlfriend

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vicgmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

As a young couple staying in Waikiki for a week, this place worked pretty well. It is a small space, but we didn't need much. Heads up, the refrigerator is small (like one you'd find in a standard hotel) so don't expect to store much in it. It contains only one window AC unit, but since it was a studio space, it worked just fine to cool the place down. If you plan to spend your vacation in your room, then you won't enjoy your time here. We only used our room to sleep and shower, otherwise we were out enjoying the sites, and therefore didn't mind the small space. We did enjoy the close proximity of restaurants, shopping, beaches, things to do, and bus routes to our room. The gentleman on site who assisted us in planning our day trips was very helpful and we greatly appreciated his expertise. We did not have a vehicle with us and we're glad we didn't. Parking availability is low since it is downtown Honolulu. That's why we enjoyed being able to walk everywhere or jumping on the bus that stops right out front! Overall, this space isn't high class by any means, but it worked great for us who hardly spent any time there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Smithma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

If your looking for a 5 star timeshare then don't waste your time here. I am a little surprised that RCI even lists this property. First let me tell you the bad, but please keep reading till the end. This property is old and is in desperate need of an update. I mean desperate!! The carpet needs replacing and the rooms need to be gutted and redone. at one end is a nightclub, it is close to a busy street and yes at night there are "ladies of the evening trying to make some money out on the street. These rooms should only be listed as max 2 not 4.There are no views of anything pretty. The tv is small, there is no oven and it has a mini-fridge. When you go out the front door you are looking at the back of an unattractive apt bldg. There are no internet connection in the rooms.
Now let me tell you about the good, LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!! You are across the street from the international market, There is a Chilis, drugstore, gracery store, Starbucks, Dennys, Subway, ATM,ABC store and more restraunts all within two blocks. Cut through the market and you can be on Kalakaua street in about 3-5 min and be at Waikiki within 5-10 min. I have never had any trouble with the staff. They have all been very nice and helpful when we have stayed there. Our room this month was very clean(yes it was very dated but it was clean). The murphy bed was comfortable, We both slept well The sheets were fresh and we didn't find any bed bugs. the little window unit kept it cool enough. My wife didn't like her pillow, we called the front desk and within 5 min they brought a new one up. They have a security guard at night and you need a key to get in the bldg at all times. I have never felt unsafe here. Hint; when making a reservation ALWAYS request 3rd or 4th floor and as far away from the nightclub as possible. We did and had no problem, we were on the third floor. I have never had any problem with outside noise. The Banyan will never be my first choice when going to Honolulu
but i would stay there again. We are never in our room that much. No doubt one day it wii probably be torn down and replaced with a newer more modern bldg.

Room Tip: Always get a room away from the nightclub
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank firefighter57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
850 reviews
White Sands Hotel
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
669 reviews
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Holiday Surf Hotel
Holiday Surf Hotel
#77 of 84 in Honolulu
187 reviews
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
474 reviews
Waikiki
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
#83 of 84 in Honolulu
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuhio Banyan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuhio Banyan Club

Address: 2310 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2983
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $104 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kuhio Banyan Club 2*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kuhio Banyan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuhio Banyan Club Hotel Honolulu
Kuhio Banyan Club Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing