We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
US ARMY MUSEUM

Well hidden but worth looking for. It is interesting to walk this museum. We arrived close to... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
hawaiicrazy
,
Honolulu, Hawaii
A very informative, historic site that is needs to be protected from development

The US Army Museum of Hawaii houses an excellent collection of artifacts from the more than 100... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
OldTravellers2
,
Washington
Read all 1,910 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Honolulu
from $135.00
More Info
from $129.00
More Info
from $24.95
More Info
Reviews (1,910)
Filter reviews
1,704 results
Traveler rating
1,062
546
86
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,062
546
86
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews military history vietnam war japanese americans free entry battery randolph medal of honor fort derussy great displays on display gift shop worth a visit couple of hours great place to visit lots of history waikiki beach pearl harbor two hours
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,704 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Well hidden but worth looking for. It is interesting to walk this museum. We arrived close to closing so weren't able to spend the time we wanted to there but will return to finish looking around.

Thank hawaiicrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The US Army Museum of Hawaii houses an excellent collection of artifacts from the more than 100 years that an army facility has occupied this site at one end of Waikiki. It was originally the bunker for long-range artillery built to protect the sea approaches to Honolulu. Although the artillery here never were fired in combat, they provided security for Honolulu from 1890s through WWII.

Today the bunker houses a series of well-lite exhibits of artifacts from the Army's presence in Hawaii and elsewhere and explains aspects of a soldier's life in Hawaii. The exhibit on US Army Gen. Eric "Rick" Shinseki's, a Hawaiian, life and service is impressive.

As a US government beach-front facility now surrounded by hotels and other tourist-oriented buildings, we are apprehensive about its preservation in its present role. it must be protected from commercial interests, who doubtless could aspire to build one more flashy hotel amidst so many others and eliminate this fine, educational resource of our history that can be appreciated by all.

1  Thank OldTravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

As an Army vet I would very impressed with the all the historical relics and exhibits showing the various historical circumstances on display. There was a very knowledgeable gentleman who was very helpful and knowledgeable about the various exhibits and displays.

Thank Temogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMSExecDir, Manager at US Army Museum of Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for stopping by to enjoy our museum. I'm glad one of museum volunteers was happy to assist you on your visit. We hope you'll visit us again!! Mahalo!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family had a good hour spending time learning about Pearl harbour attack. Nice exhibits and range of weapons on show. Bus drops you off right near the front and the beach behind has lots of turtles in the morning.

1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMSExecDir, Manager at US Army Museum of Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to visit the museum. We're glad you had a great time on your visit! Hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I didn’t know what to expect at this museum. It was a history of Hawaii from King Kamehameha to Vietnam. All of the events between those times and the proud heritage of Hawaiian involvement in fighting for themselves and America. I learned a lot and now appreciate the culture and history of the Hawaiian people. Also the changing relationships with Japan and the Japanese people.

Thank HAPIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMSExecDir, Manager at US Army Museum of Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so glad that you visited our museum. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please come back soon!! Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped here for an hour or so on our way to the beach. Its a good attraction, free of cost. Lots of artifacts and pictures, depicting the military history of Hawaii. Its close to the Waikiki beach, so do visit while on the way to the beach or plan at a different time.

Thank Travel_Pak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMSExecDir, Manager at US Army Museum of Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for stopping in on your way to the beach. We really appreciate your comments and support.

Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good Overview of Military History on Hawaii and free as well. My son loved the helicopter on the roof.

Thank richnsands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMSExecDir, Manager at US Army Museum of Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for stopping by. We're so glad you enjoyed it!!

Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Located adjacent to Fort DeRussy park on Waikiki beach you’ll find the impressive US Army Museum of Hawaii. Entry is free, although donations are gratefully accepted. The museum has a good array of exhibits, and tells the story of Hawaii’s involvement in various military conflicts including the Pearl Harbour attack and participation of local soldiers in the Vietnam War. Our young sons found it highly educational, and particularly enjoyed seeing the range of artillery plus army tanks and helicopter. A fitting tribute to Hawaii’s military past, and the residents of Hawaii who have achieved distinguished honours in various battles. There’s a really good gift shop on site where you’ll find an assortment of well priced memorabilia. Definitely worth a visit.

Thank andrewmD3618TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMSExecDir, Manager at US Army Museum of Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a wonderful review of our museum! Your patronage and support are greatly appreciated.

Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Recommend a visit to this less well-known museum. Entry is free. It contains lots of displays and information about the history of Oahu and its relationship and role with the US military.

Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMSExecDir, Manager at US Army Museum of Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your review and taking the time to visit us! Hope you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves! Aloha!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

While staying in Waikiki we decided to visit the Army Museum, Fort Derussy. It is located a short walking distance from the Outrigger Reef Hotel and admission is free. The museum was surprisingly quite large and it took us a couple of hours to see everything. It was refreshing to notice that at the end of our visit we were not forced to visit the gift shop, however we did decide to visit it and made a purchase as the merchandise was unique and very well priced. A visit to the Army Museum Fort Derussy would complement a visit to Pearl Harbour and the USS Arizona memorial, or is worthwhile as a standalone visit.

Thank Kaye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews